We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a relaxing atmosphere”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 16 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Griffin, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food in a relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

After an afternoon of enjoying The Market you have to stop in at Hank's. Anything on the menu is an excellent choice. The bouillabaisse is my husband's favorite (actually the reason we made a special trip to Charleston). The prices are not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for at Hank's.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
The team appreciates your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the bouillabaisse, and we hope you return to have it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,934
    765
    314
    77
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get the seared tuna”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I can't say enough about the tuna with carmelized onions and black olive vinaigrette. It was our first meal upon arrival in Charleston and it set the bar incredibly high. No other meal came close. The smoked salmon app and oysters casino were also outstanding. Service was impeccable and the atmosphere was fun, not stuffy. Loved it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NikoleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you! The seared tuna is one of our favorites- you won't find a dish like that anywhere else in Charleston. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great night out with friends!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We went to Charleston with friends who introduced us to this restaurant. We had a fabulous time. The food and service were all top notch, and the martinis were fantastic! I loved the ambiance.. Very appropriate for a harbor side seafood restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lusochic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Please tell your friends that we appreciate their recommendation. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your meal with your group. Please let us know if we can accommodate you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner here on our final night...worth the wait!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Incredible! We had impeccable service here at Hank's. The food was all delicious and our waiter couldn't have been more attentive. I had the triggerfish special and my husband had one of the fried seafood specials...everything exceeded our expectations!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
The team is thrilled to hear that everything exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your wonderful review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Hank's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adam-ski70
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place super food”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Walked in No Reservations ,
went to The bar and had an excellent drink , while sipping that drink kept an eye on the communal table , five minutes and I had a seat ! Tuna tatar to die for, and main course of seared tuna perfect
The waiter was super too,
knew the menus and wines , extra tip for that :)
Would come back anytime

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adam-ski70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for coming in to dine at our Community Table! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal, and that your server was so helpful. While we strongly encourage reservations for dining at a table in our dining room, the bar and Community Table are great places to enjoy the full menu and meet new people. We hope you come see us again soon, we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing