We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE TOUR to book in Charleston”

Oyster Point Historic Walking Tours
Ranked #4 of 251 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This two-hour tour is the perfect introduction to our historic city for first timers to Charleston and for the frequent visitor who wishes to learn something new! Our walk through the French Quarter and South of Broad neighborhoods covers the history, architecture, economics, and geography of Charleston and the surrounding lowcountry with humor and a well-researched, honest accounting of the figures and forces that have shaped historic and contemporary Charleston.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I am not one to write reviews, but this tour was the highlight of our trip to Charleston. Although we visit the city monthly, we finally learned the stories behind some of our favorite spots. Our guide was absolutely incredible -- theatrical, excited, and so knowledgeable about the city. Not only did we learn the facts, but also the fun tidbits. We did quite a bit of research before choosing a history tour, and we could not have been happier with our selection. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone looking to explore the city and its history.

Date of experience: March 2018
6  Thank jessicaswannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"civil war tour"
in 76 reviews
"palmer stowe"
in 26 reviews
"william harris"
in 24 reviews
"charleston history"
in 105 reviews
"great tour"
in 107 reviews
"two hours"
in 70 reviews
"private walking tour"
in 13 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 54 reviews
"high energy"
in 17 reviews
"hour tour"
in 42 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 28 reviews
"his passion"
in 15 reviews
"informative tour"
in 30 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 30 reviews
"rich history"
in 20 reviews
"small group"
in 17 reviews
"historic district"
in 14 reviews
Filter

144 - 148 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We took a walking tour on a Tuesday morning. Our guide, Palmer, was fantastic! She was exceptionally knowledgeable and was able to tailor the tour to our group’s needs while sticking to a basic structure that still hit all the important stops along the way. She engaged every guest and did a masterful job keeping our teenage son interested throughout the tour. Our group was way smaller and much more intimate than most of the other tour groups we passed. Definitely a highlight of our vacation in Charleston!

Date of experience: April 2018
4  Thank 4FromIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

A fantastic walking tour that was guided by Bill, one of the co-owners of the company. He was great, knows a ton of people in the city, has a wide variety of knowledge about the history (political, architecture, etc.) and was just a pleasure. He was not afraid to talk about the tough topics concerning the city (the many impacts that slavery had for instance) and will leave you talking about him and the tour well after it is over. Since we happened to have a smaller group the day we went, he even asked ahead of time if there were particular topics we wanted to focus on.
Take this tour before you even consider any others in the city.

Date of experience: March 2018
6  Thank king10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour with Palmer! She brought Charleston history to life for us -- interesting, fun, well-paced, engaging. We are very glad that we selected Oyster Point Historic Walking Tours. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: February 2018
4  Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Our tour guide, Palmer, one of the two owners of the company, was outstanding. She was very knowledgeable, truly interested in Charleston’s history, and packed a lot into a two hour tour. The focus is on the French Quarter and the Battery areas and we saw a lot of interesting buildings and places along the way while Palmer filled us in on the many facts that make Charleston unique. We were lucky there were only two other couples on our tour. She also offered tips on other things to see, places to eat...Highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
5  Thank joellen0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oyster Point Historic Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oyster Point Historic Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing