We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short ”
Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zero George Street
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a night at Zero George with my wife on an impromptu trip for her birthday. And wished that we had planned an entire weekend. The veranda room was perfect. The porch was the perfect spot to sit with a glass of wine and a desert from the small but very charming restaurant. The staff was courteous and very insightful. I will definitely go back and enjoy at least two nights. This is a far different experience than one of the hotel chains. Very impressive.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra D, Front Office Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Steve S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a pleasant review on your recent stay at Zero George! I’m thrilled you had such a fantastic time for your wife’s special birthday trip. Enjoying Zero’s quintessential Charleston verandas, sipping and nibbling on complimentary wine and cheese, and partaking in a delicious meal at our restaurant are all things which truly capture the essence of the Zero George St. experience! Furthermore, I’m glad that your visit was enhanced by our helpful and friendly staff, who strives to provide meaningful experiences which will bring our guests back to visit year after year. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Alexandra Dunlop
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

we loved the warm and welcoming staff as well as the location. Zero George is on the cusp of the historic district and easy walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. they have really thought of every detail for their guests. a highlight was the cooking class with the chef and the lovely wine served at happy hour. we had a marvelous time and would stay at Zero George again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra D, Front Office Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Marla S,

I’m so happy to read your delightful review of your recent stay with us here at Zero! Thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

Our goal is to provide experiences which will stick with you for years. I am thrilled that our staff provided the special service we strive to exude, and that it enhanced your experience in our beautiful city.

On top of your stay, I’m happy you were able to attend a cooking class with chef Vinson Petrillo, and that you didn’t miss our nightly complimentary wine & cheese hour! I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Until next time,
Alexandra Dunlop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

The facility, staff and services are the best we have experienced in many years of travel in Charleston, New York City, Chicago, San Francisco, France, Italy, Spain and many other countries. We were so wonderfully surprised, especially because we were celebrating our 58th anniversary. But it was obvious that the service and accommodations we experienced were the standard for every guest. The location, restaurant, rooms, courtyards made it an historic and very comfortable place. The food, amenities (breakfast and late PM complementary wine and cheese). Charm, friendliness, relaxation and happiness are the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for what you prefer and they will try to meet your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra D, Front Office Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Raymond L,

Thank you for putting the time aside to write a review regarding your recent Anniversary stay here at Zero George and in such glowing terms! It means a lot to us, especially coming from such a seasoned traveler.

Our aim is to truly leave an impression on each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that we succeeded in making your special Anniversary a memorable one. I appreciate your mention of all the details, from the convenient location of the property, to the culinary components, included amenities and attentive staff.

Should your travels bring you back to our beautiful area in the future, we hope you will consider Zero as your go-to hotel choice.

Sincerely,
Alexandra Dunlop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Charleston offers a wide range of hotel accommodations from the super luxe to the quaint bed and breakfast, and now there is the perfect combination of both. Zero George is the new best hotel in Charleston. It's offerings are understated but seamlessly plentiful.

Upon our arrival, someone was there to whisk us directly to our room. The staff knows everyone coming in as there are only 16 rooms. After settling in, we made our way to the old "cookhouse" which is located centrally on the property where we found a quaint bar and restaurant offering complementary wine and cheese. Upon entering the cookhouse we were greeted by the chef who was preparing dinner in an open kitchen for the zero George restaurant that evening. This is also where complimentary breakfast is offered in the morning featuring "Callie's hot biscuits"

The rooms are antebellum exquisite with furnished private balconies on first and second floors where you can enjoy an afternoon cocktail before heading to dinner or a morning breakfast. Amenities are endless, from bikes to beverages to beach and spa excursions.

Ladies and gents, if your going to Charleston, you'll be doing yourself a disservice if you don't try this place.



Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JONTRAVELER2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra D, Front Office Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear JONTRAVELER2016,

Thank you for your exquisite and thorough review of your recent stay at Zero George St. Hotel. We understand the lengthy list of accommodation options you have here in Charleston, and we thank you so much for choosing us! I am thrilled to hear that we are “the best”, as we truly strive to stand out amongst the tough competition. Thank you for touching on all of the touches which made your trip extra special and memorable. I’m glad you were able to partake in our complimentary amenities such as nightly wine & cheese and daily European continental breakfast- featuring the local Callie’s Hot Little Biscuits! I’m pleased you were able to explore all that the downtown peninsula has to offer, but that you also made the short trip to enjoy the beaches and SC’s famously beautiful coastline. We hope to see you again soon as Charleston is truly a dynamic destination offering wonderful experiences in all seasons!

Warm Regards,
Alexandra Dunlop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We loved our trip to Zero George so much. The accommodations and grounds were picture-perfect beautiful. I've never stayed at such a beautiful place where the history felt so present. You feel like you're staying at your vacation home, with the most wonderful service and amenities! We cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra D, Front Office Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hannah P,

I am thrilled that you had such a lovely time at our charming boutique hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic and complimentary review. Our team strives to provide high-touch modern service, while also preserving the historic charm. I’m so glad that you felt that during your visit and we hope to have you back with us should your future travels bring you back to our lovely city!

Kindly,
Alexandra Dunlop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,934 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
511 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 61 in Charleston
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,264 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Address: 0 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 20,587 - ₹ 42,473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing