We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Respite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Inn is a misnomer because it is actually a plantation of old. The Inn is beautiful and the surrounding fields and gardens are magbificent. Although somewhat dated in time and in need of some more modern type sprucing up (eg, bathrooms), my wife and I found it very agreeable. It is peaceful! Since our previous visit ca. 13 years ago, they now offer wine and chees at 5:00 PM and a continental breakfastr plus more. There are nearby similar attractions to visit and we even rode into the quaint city of Summerville, SC for dinner one night. A good GPS navigsation system is beneficial.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALNJEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,224 - 1,228 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

I am shocked by the reviews this place gets. Let me break it down:
Hard beds, mildewy/old attic smell, rude front desk girl, dirty bathroom, tiny/outdated television, bugs in the room.
The breakfast is cold (think Corn Flakes and a banana) unless you pay $10 for eggs/bacon.

The grounds are beautiful though. We toured the plantation/gardens on our second day. The tour guides were not impressed that we were "Oh. From the INN." (i.e. non paying visitors?) But the tour was nice and we spent hours exploring the gardens.

All in all -- dont be fooled by these reviews. This is by NO MEANS a 5 or even 4 star hotel. I dont feel it was worth the price. The plantation tour may make it worthwhile for maybe a one night stay, though. I just find it ironic that a self-described Bed and Breakfast has horribly uncomfortable beds and a mediocre breakfast! We probably wont return ...

Room Tip: We heard every noise from the adjoining rooms. We were on the ground floor in a Queen river view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K8Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in late march. I was fortunate to have picture perfect wheather. The inn is sort of like staying at a high end camp right next door to some of the most spectacular gardens in the country. The best part was wondering the property in the mornings and evenings when the tourists were gone. I walked every morning after a simple breakfast at the inn and greeted several small gators sunning themselves in the quiet. Turtles too. The inn is a great base camp for touring all of the Ashley river plantations and cypress gardens. And an easy 20 minute drive to historic charleston for restaurants and shopping. Great for solitude but would also work well for family groups. Not fancy - no need to dress up. But if you love to walk and walk amongst beauty this is a great place to be. You're minutes from magnolia plantation and Audubon gardens, Dayton hall and not too far from cypress garden. Rooms and bathrooms are huge. Yes the decor is dated and the tvs are pretty small and awkward . I didn't even turn mine all the whole 5days. Too much else to do. Tip : must have rental car! Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Momomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Don't arrive with any pre-conceived ideas and you will be surprised - though if you don't like modern architecture then perhaps this is not the place for you !. We loved our room and it was large with a huge bathroom. The beds were comfy and everything was spotless. We arrived early and were told our room was ready so this meant we could have an afternoon enjoying the plantation before dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast was served in another building with a pretty lake view, granola,cereal,fruit, cake,muffins,juice were served as part of B&B package and a cooked breakfast was available for an extra charge. We enjoyed another ramble before we checked out. Outdoor pool a bit chilly in April but we had a go !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for three nights at the end of March and what a fantastic stay we had.

The Inn itself is extremely striking and somehow works beautifully in the setting that it is in. There are lots of things for guests to do including a morning kayaking which was the highlight of our overall trip with a fantastic guide, Luke. There are hammocks and seats throughout the site that allow you to sit in and relax in and simply enjoy the beauty of the place.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the grounds were stunning. We felt like we had arrived in another world. The accommodation was built in the 80's so it is a little tired but this didn't detract from our stay. Ever afternoon there are canapes and drinks served, gratis, and breakfast is included in the overall price. A further benefit of staying at the Inn was the free access it gave you to the Middleton Plantation ( reviewed separately) which was amazing.

Charleston was about 30 mins away but we loved the Middleton Inn so much you had to drag us away to enjoy it.

If you are looking for a special spot to relax in for a weekend this is it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripMember012320171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 11,012 - ₹ 17,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing