We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Inn and Middleton Place is one of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed in the Charleston area, which I visit a couple times a year. The Inn is located on the property of Middleton Place, a very historic plantation and gardens about 20 minutes from Downtown Charleston on the Ashley River adjacent to Magnolia and Drayton Hall, the other two Ashley River plantations that are open to the public and well worth visiting.

The Inn is about 20 years old and was considered very modern for its time. It is situated in the woods on a bank above the river within a 5 minute walk of the gardens and historic buildings but out of sight of both. The rooms are of very clean design with noble materials used on all surfaces you experience. Floor to ceiling glass is in every room with louvered shutters to control light and privacy. Some rooms look out onto lawns and the river. . .others into the woods. All are very pleasant comfortable spaces and come with afternoon snacks, a generous breakfast in a central dining room above a small creek, and free access to the historic estate and gardens.

There are fairly extensive walking trails around the grounds which turned out to be a big benefit since I was staying with my dog at this pet friendly establishment.

Some people will not want to drive into Charleston from this location but it really isn't a bad drive and the combination of quiet rural plantation surroundings and the historic urban experience of Old Charleston is perfect from my perspective.

Room Tip: I loved the rooms that face the river and I actually preferred the ground floor since it was quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pyrprshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    305
    121
    66
    36
See reviews for
232
818
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Secluded, surrounded by water, woods, and gardens. You can spend hours exploring the grounds and finding out the history of this plantation. There were two weddings going on during our stay. It would be tough picking which spot to choose for the wedding. There are canoes and kayaks available to use. Breakfast and a manager's reception in the evening. There is a restaurant on the grounds. Sprout bath and body products are provided. The rooms have the feel of a cabin with an actual wood burning fireplace. Lots of windows(!) with wooden shutters. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pack and plays are provided if you contact them at the time of the reservation. New bedding is recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you can see the water from. I believe there is one room at the end that has a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UsTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Had a fabulous stay at the Middleton inn! Everything was excellent, especially the trail ride through some of the spectacular expansive grounds. Well maintained gardens were such a pleasure to explore the local wildlife and woodlands. The only criticism that we had was our room as I would love. To see them update the bathroom and floors. (new mattresss and bedding needed as well) but this we definitely could overlook as the rest of our stay was just great! Definitely recommend going for either day visit and tour (loved the walking tour and guided house tour) and carriage tour of grounds. Would make a wonderful venue for wedding! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9glenrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just got back from a weekend in Charleston. Must say that the Inn was the most relaxing, tranquil, and beautiful place I have stayed in a long time. It was perfect. The room was great; filled with windows facing the Ashley River. Spectacular views. Exploring the gardens and plantation was the best part of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robcandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We liked staying at the Inn at Middleton Place, especially since our accommodations included access to the original plantation for our entire stay. You could roam the property day or night and walk right down to the Ashley River. During our stay, the Camellias were on the wane and the azaleas were all in bloom, so it was a beautiful sight to look across the acres of unspoiled land. There is so much history to absorb.
We were given a satisfactory continental breakfast including homemade cake, fruit, granola, yogurt, juice and coffee. I would have liked some plain bread or bagels, but none were offered. Wine or beer was complimentary in the afternoon and was served with assorted cheeses, fruit and a hot appetizer ( a very nice touch).
Umbrellas were left outside our rooms for our convienience along with seasoned wood for the fireplace.
The rooms were nice but on the rustic side-it was almost like staying in a well appointed cabin. I must admit that the beds were not as comfortable as we had expected, and we did tell management that the mattresses need to be changed out.
Our visit was in March when the temperatures were in the mid to upper 60's and bug free. I'm not sure how buggy the area gets in the hot summer, so be prepared.
However, all in all, we liked staying at the inn and would probably try it again - but only if the mattresses are replaced!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cammyleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Property: Inn at Middleton Place
Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,743 - ₹ 19,830
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing