We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Secluded, surrounded by water, woods, and gardens. You can spend hours exploring the grounds and finding out the history of this plantation. There were two weddings going on during our stay. It would be tough picking which spot to choose for the wedding. There are canoes and kayaks available to use. Breakfast and a manager's reception in the evening. There is a restaurant on the grounds. Sprout bath and body products are provided. The rooms have the feel of a cabin with an actual wood burning fireplace. Lots of windows(!) with wooden shutters. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pack and plays are provided if you contact them at the time of the reservation. New bedding is recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you can see the water from. I believe there is one room at the end that has a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,245 - 1,249 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Had a fabulous stay at the Middleton inn! Everything was excellent, especially the trail ride through some of the spectacular expansive grounds. Well maintained gardens were such a pleasure to explore the local wildlife and woodlands. The only criticism that we had was our room as I would love. To see them update the bathroom and floors. (new mattresss and bedding needed as well) but this we definitely could overlook as the rest of our stay was just great! Definitely recommend going for either day visit and tour (loved the walking tour and guided house tour) and carriage tour of grounds. Would make a wonderful venue for wedding! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9glenrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just got back from a weekend in Charleston. Must say that the Inn was the most relaxing, tranquil, and beautiful place I have stayed in a long time. It was perfect. The room was great; filled with windows facing the Ashley River. Spectacular views. Exploring the gardens and plantation was the best part of our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robcandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We liked staying at the Inn at Middleton Place, especially since our accommodations included access to the original plantation for our entire stay. You could roam the property day or night and walk right down to the Ashley River. During our stay, the Camellias were on the wane and the azaleas were all in bloom, so it was a beautiful sight to look across the acres of unspoiled land. There is so much history to absorb.
We were given a satisfactory continental breakfast including homemade cake, fruit, granola, yogurt, juice and coffee. I would have liked some plain bread or bagels, but none were offered. Wine or beer was complimentary in the afternoon and was served with assorted cheeses, fruit and a hot appetizer ( a very nice touch).
Umbrellas were left outside our rooms for our convienience along with seasoned wood for the fireplace.
The rooms were nice but on the rustic side-it was almost like staying in a well appointed cabin. I must admit that the beds were not as comfortable as we had expected, and we did tell management that the mattresses need to be changed out.
Our visit was in March when the temperatures were in the mid to upper 60's and bug free. I'm not sure how buggy the area gets in the hot summer, so be prepared.
However, all in all, we liked staying at the inn and would probably try it again - but only if the mattresses are replaced!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cammyleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Staying at Middleton Place has been an oasis. I was worried we would feel isolated from the activity of Charlston, but we love a natural setting, so it has been heaven. We didn't get to eat at the Inn, but the view from the dining room is breathtaking. We were here in March and the 35,000 azaleas that reflect on the water around Middleton Place are stunning. It's fascinating to learn about the rice cultivation too, and to watch the tidal Ashley River rise and fall. Alligators, guinea hens, gorgeous peacocks and water fowl are everywhere.

Caveats: Attn business travelers: I had some work come up and needed to print and fax and had to use the reception desk. I asked what a real business traveler would do, and they don't seem equipped for that. However the free wifi in the room works fine. Small tv and not too many channels. No fires in the rooms while we were here in March.

Room Tip: We had a river queen. Not a suite and it was pretty big. Good value for $160 a night, we thought. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbInTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,885 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
991 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,652 reviews
Indigo Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 11,728 - ₹ 17,944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing