We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romance and Tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Romance and Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband had a business trip in Charleston but chose this place since I was joining him. We were only there one night but we enjoyed the beauty and charm of the grounds and took full advantage of our room. It has a real wood burning fireplace and although it wasn't that cold we still started a fire and enjoyed the huge soaking tub. The outdoor hammocks were also a favorite hangout. The grounds were gorgeous and so peaceful were the surroundings that if we could've stayed there a week we wouldn't have been bored. It was the most peaceful and romantic stay We've had in such a short trip. It's a 30 minute drive into Charleston but we wouldn't stay anywhere else when we come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalynne31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    305
    121
    66
    36
See reviews for
233
818
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I visited Charleston over a long weekend and stayed at the Inn at Middleton Place. We were not disappointed. The charm of the inn was all consuming, from the fireplace in every room to the breathtaking views. We had a hard time actually leaving the inn. We enjoyed complimentary access to the Middleton plantation, gardens, as well as breakfast and a wine and cheese hour every day. Needless to say, we would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, romantic weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bthoms33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The hotel offers a fireplace (w/ unlimited fire wood), complimentary breakfast (cereal, toast, yogurt and oatmeal) and afternoon reception (beer, wine, and hors d'oeuvres), free admittance to their 18th century-style plantation (presently maintained by a staff of workers watching cattle, horses, pigs, goats and chickens as well as a blacksmith. Also the house itself is an historical landmark with artifacts dating from the Revolutionary War and the Civil War). And this was all free.
The room has wood-paneled flooring, free wi-fi, large bath tub with bath salts, soft bed (with a relatively rough blanket), three-foot tall fridge, and around 25-inch television with 8-10 channels.
The plantation itself has beautiful gardens that are to be big enough to get lost in. It is surprising how close they let you get to the wildlife and buildings (there are no velvet ropes except for in the plantation house). I suggest you ask any workers if you can get close up to any of the farming animals as they were very accommodating to us.
The staff is also very friendly. They went out of their way by giving us a list of restaurants that deliver (at 12 am), squeezing us in an earlier house tour because of our tight schedule, and giving us complimentary bathroom goods from their gift shop because we were guests there.
There is a restaurant on the site which offers southern-style meals for around $25-$35 a plate. There are also activities such as horseback riding, canoeing, and kayaking which can cost around $20-$30. The hotel is 20 minutes outside of Charleston downtown, which means a quiet night's sleep but also a great space between the hotel and an urban district.
If you like a quiet getaway, have a taste for American history, or prefer a more rural, natural environment, then stay at the Middleton Place Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We really enjoyed our night at the Inn at Middleton Place. Being able to explore the grounds after they close to the public really give you the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful grounds. We were lucky to be there when the Magnolias were in bloom. The room we were in had a fireplace and the largest soaking tub. I think it could use a little of an upgrade, but is was clean. They provided you with plenty of wood for a fire. The room is very rustic modern with all the necessities. They have a wine and some small appetizer in the early evening in the building that you have continental breakfast in (full breakfast is available at an extra charge) the morning. If was very expensive to stay but a very unique experience and worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a romantic getaway weekend through a deal we got on Living Social. I had read many reviews and was slightly apprehensive about the hotel. However, I really enjoyed staying at the Inn, mainly because of its attachment to the beautiful Middleton gardens. The views of the Ashley river were gorgeous, and I loved the intimacy of the location. The negatives of this hotel: the floors are impossible to keep clean- they are concrete and everything outside is gravel and sand. The TV is tiny (not that you watch it much with so many things to see outside, but it's really dated), the bathtub is huge, but it's square and not good for relaxing ( no way to lean back) and takes about as much water as a swimming pool to fill up! , but the bed was seriously the most uncomfortable thing I have ever tried to sleep on! Please get new mattresses! I really liked having the fireplace in the room, and the huge windows made the views spectacular. We really enjoyed the horseback trail ride. The evening wine/ snacks was a nice gesture, but the food was extremely limited, and went quickly (and not replaced by more). The continental breakfast was better. I loved the walk over to the gardens and the restaurant there was pretty good, although pricey. It is quite a drive to downtown Charleston (about 30 minutes), so you don't want to be driving back and forth a lot. It was a nice hotel, but I wouldnt likely stay there again - not because I didn't like the place, but it's more of a " been there- done that".

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxannsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your opinions guest! The value of staying at The Inn is undisputable, with admission to Middleton Place (a $74 cost) including in the room rate, the Healthy Start Breakfast and evening reception where complimentary wine, beer and snacks are offered. We are happy you were able to take part in all! We have a list of all our mattresses and the dates they were bought and automatically replace 10-12 mattresses every six months, so we don’t currently have a mattress on property that is over two years old. We understand that individual tastes do differ however and are happy to help anyone find a comfortable spot, either with a room switch, bed board or additional mattress linen. Never hesitate to contact us during your stay so we can be a part of that immediate solution! As always, feel free to contact me or my team directly with comments and concerns! All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Property: Inn at Middleton Place
Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,743 - ₹ 19,830
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing