We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and history”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed there for work and it was a very nice stay. The hotel is nice and pretty. Its big selling point to me was its very central location, close to both east bay street, broad street etc. worth a stay and will be a repeat customer next time I'm there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,726
    1,048
    354
    153
    62
See reviews for
807
1,385
88
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelia, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I originally wrote the review below on February 20, the day after our stay at the Mills House. A week later, our entire bill was refunded to our credit card. I think that there are some definite opportunities at this hotel for retraining of staff (or perhaps just firing the lot and starting over)... however I was very impressed that the management took our grievances so seriously.

We WILL give them another shot the next time we are in Charleston and let y'all know how they do!

Here is the original review:

The valets were understaffed and completely incapable of handling just a few cars. After waiting for quite a while, none of them even greeted us (no "I'm sorry we'll be right with you" or "welcome to the Mills House"...nothing). We finally decided it would be best to take the bags to the room and park the car ourselves. The front desk clerk asked why we weren't getting valet service, so I told her...and rather than apologize and try to make it right she simply said "Oh, ok".

I called the bellman to arrange for a cab to take us to dinner, and he said "Ok sure, no problem" and hung up without asking for my name or room number. I felt compelled to go down and see the concierge (Ms. Faythe) just to make sure. SHE was actually VERY nice; frankly she is the only member of the staff at the Mills House who had any idea what hospitality means.

The room was excruciatingly small, even for a historic building. The furniture was chipped and damaged, the bed was horribly uncomfortable, and the tub did not properly drain during our showers. The room service we received for breakfast was not what we ordered, but we had to leave so we didn't have time to change it. The food was hot but bland, and there wasn't any butter or jam for the biscuits so we ate them dry.

Upon checking out, I mentioned to the clerk that we had not had the best experience, but she couldn't be bothered to inquire why or to offer to make anything right, saying only "Ok, Sorry to hear that".

I did mention all this to a man who identified himself as a manager while I waited for my husband to get the car. He seemed genuinely concerned and took our room number, saying he would see if he could do something for US on the rate. If that happens will make a note of it here. (UPDATE: WE RECEIVED A FULL REFUND)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereasaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Located in the heart of Charleston's historic district, Mills House Inn reflects the elegance which is Charleston
While the accoutrement in the lobby is gloriously antique, the staff is not. Vibrant, warm,and welcoming, the staff transforms formality into a charming home-away-from-home.
Walking out the front entrance, historic landmarks, world-class restaurants and shops are literally steps away.
While we didn't have an opportunity to dine at Mills House Inn, we enjoyed drinks and snacks in the magnificent bar room.
From valet to reception to servers and housekeeping, the efficient and well- mannered staff won our seal of approval.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BidiJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We wanted to stay in downtown Charleston and booked by naming our own price through priceline for $108 a night. THE LOCATION IS PERFECT! It is an historic hotel within walking distance to everything ou would want to see in Charleston including great restaurants and bars, wonderful historic churches and neighborhoods, the waterfront, the battery and rainbow row. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluestdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel has a lot of character. My balcony room was attractive and comfortable. The balcony overlooked 3 of the best restaurants in Charleston...Husk, Poogan's Porch, and 82 Queen. I ate dinner at each one and they were excellent. The hotel's bar was inviting with friendly bartenders and the restaurant and servers were pleasant and attentive. What could have made it better? Two things...Parking is a hassle and the Mills House valets didn't help matters. Secondly, although the property is in the heart of the historic district, I would prefer to be closer to the Market Street area. Which is about 5 or 6 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GammaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,759 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,658 - ₹ 27,058
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing