We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,552)
Filter reviews
3,552 results
Traveller rating
2,488
607
269
126
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,488
607
269
126
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level palmetto cafe thoroughbred club retractable roof beautiful hotel room service luxury hotel southern charm junior suite rooftop pool bell staff king street turn down service the concierge level fitness center heart of downtown bottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 3,552 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Our go to hotel when in Charleston. Perfect location on the peninsula with easy access to everything within walking distance. Service is premium, a recent renovation has certainly made the rooms updated and very elegant. The staff is very courteous and helpful and the restaurants also have amazing service and the food is delicious! Do ask for a room that does not face king street, and that is not immediately off of the elevator area as it can be a bit disturbing at night and very early in the morning if you wish to go to bed early or sleep in a bit.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 479summerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear 479summerh,

Thank you for allowing us to continue to be your "go-to hotel" when in Charleston. I am delighted that we have your ideal location and access to everything, along with premium service. I am pleased that you enjoy our Southern hospitality, restaurants and food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We really enjoyed our stay. The property is gorgeous and pet friendly! Perfect location to walk to restaurants and sight see in the historic district. We never used our car for three days. Fantastic service by all staff. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Christine S,

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found our property to be gorgeous, as well as the location. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am also pleased that you enjoyed fantastic service, Southern hospitality, and enjoyed the location. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

For a very expensive hotel, I guess I just expect more. Yes, it’s pretty, with some degree of “elegance,” great location within walking distance of everything (a bit touristy though), very clean, tastefully “appointed,” large and well-supplied fitness room, but some issues keep it firmly in 4-Star territory IMHO:

—Spa is nice, small-ish but waaaaay too expensive. I’ve had massages at places as varied as Canyon Ranch and Arenal in Costa Rica, and $220/80 minute Swedish massage is just. too. much. My massage was quite good but not THAT good.
—WiFi is pretty bad (glitchy)...and charging for additional devices is mercenary.
—I’m not a big TV watcher, but a special treat on a vacation is watching top-flight movies in room after a long day out and about. No movies here at all, and TV was glitchy, sometimes no signal at all.
—Maintenance work being done between 9am And 5pm: Nonstop hammering overhead. Ouch.
—Had to call housekeeping three times for blanket and pillows for sofa bed.
—Limited room service menu; if you order from grill, prices are downright outrageous.
—Pool looks great in pix and is perfect temperature and inviting, but gets very crowded by midday. Not the hotel’s “fault”, but just FYI. Try to get there before 11 if u want some peace. Hot tub is super hot.
—because hotel is set back away from street (which is an advantage noise-wise in the midst of town), there isn’t much of a view. At least there wasn’t from our room. Just some bushes. I think this is the case with most rooms.
—breakfast buffet is meh. A la carte items took really long to arrive. Go around the corner to Toast or something instead.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ASM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed here during a trip in early March. The hotel is located about 20-30 minutes from the airport in historic Charleston. The hotel itself was a little hard to find because the main drive is off a side street with a small sign and hidden behind the public parking garage. We drove by it twice, then called for directions. The location is great if you want to do stuff in historic Charleston. Once we got there, we didn't really need a car at all as long as you wanted to stay and eat in the area. It was about a 10 minute walk to the park where the Charleston Wine and Food Festival was held or a 10-15 minute walk down to the water in the other direction. We walked most places, but did decide to "get out of the area" a couple nights for dinner and other activities.

The staff was wonderful was the moment we arrived. Both the bell and valet desk along with desk staff were great. We actually had two reservations for the week (one for work, one for personal). The gal who checked us in set it up so we didn't need to change rooms or even come back down to the desk. This has not been our experience at other hotels, so it was much appreciated.

We were in a room on the fourth floor. Room was beautiful and spacious. The bathroom was large with plenty of room and lighting. Be careful of the bathtubs. The sides of the tub are very tall. You definitely need to use the hand railing to get in and out. We noticed it and discussed how we weren't sure our older parents would be able to get in and out of the tub. This could be an issue if you had limited mobility.

We only had one complaint about the hotel. The rooms are noisy. Our room had an adjoining door to the next room. Every time that woman turned on her TV or had a conversation, it was like she was talking to us. In fact, one day she worked from her hotel room ALL DAY. It was like having someone constantly talking to you all day long. It didn't appear that she was concerned with confidentiality at all because at one point she provided her credit card number to someone over the phone. Good thing we are honest people. We could have gone shopping with her info. The wall that the headboards abutted was also noisy because that room's TV was against that wall on the other side. It was not nearly as loud, but still noticeable. Disappointing for how expensive this hotel was to stay. I'm not sure if the noise factor depends on your neighbor or if all the rooms are like this. Also, if you are a light sleeper, there is a church around the corner with a bell tower that tolls every hour. I didn't notice it, but my spouse did during the night.

Despite the noise issue, this hotel was great. I would give them 5 stars for everything except the noise. We'd also like to send a special thanks to Brandon at the valet stand for taking such good care of us during our stay. He was delightful, and we enjoyed "reporting back" about our adventures and sharing restaurant tips with him.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KAK401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear KAK401,

Thank you for sharing your experience and choosing to stay at Belmond Charleston Place. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our location and the Southern hospitality of our staff, and you were pleased with the accommodations. I do apologize for the noise level you found your room to be. If it had been a nuisance our team would have happily put you in another room. However, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

What a lovely experience to stay at the Belmond Charleston Place. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The amenities were very well done and overall it was very comfortable. We went for our 40th wedding anniversary and the little touches were outstanding. The spa area, pool and terrace on the 4th floor were so inviting we visited often. Concierge recommendations were spot on and we had the most enjoyable stay. Thank you Belmond!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JPfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear JPfla,

I am honored that you chose to stay with us, and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased to learn that you have had a "lovely experience, and enjoyed Southern hospitality at our central location." Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a special milestone, and I am delighted we were able to go above and beyond with the special touches to make your 40th anniversary extra special. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews