We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Wonderful hotel with excellent service including responsivel concierge, great linens, wonderful restaurants. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. One suggestion if you eat breakfast there is to ask if there is a way to bundle several items, because the servings are very large. I wanted eggs, juice, coffee, yogurt and fruit. First day we spent at least double the third day, with waiter's suggestion on how to cut it down. Also, less food wasted. I'm gluten-free and they have WONDERFUL rolls at either the Palmetto or Charleston Grill, but call ahead for them. Drinks in the bar were great as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLwellTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,673 - 2,677 of 3,310 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

stayed at the Charleston place in February 2012 for the wife's birthday stayed at the club level,This was the 14th year in a row for her birthday at Charleston place and the spa the spa was great as usual. The concierge at check in as well as the club level concierge were great. service everywhere was terrific.. Charleston place is always consistent and this years was no exception when you stay at Charleston place You are treated like a very special person. recommend that you always ask them to help you to find things to do even if you have been going there for years as we have..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crock28459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Crock28459,

Thanks for your continued business at Charleston Place. There's no better compliment for our hotel than repeat business, and we're pleased to have you and your wife continue to celebrate with us each year. I simply wanted to reach out to thank you for sharing this review. I'm pleased to read that we were able to deliver the same consistent experience that you've come to expect.

Thanks again for choosing Charleston Place. We look forward to welcoming you back early next year.

Warm regards,

Paul Stracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at Charleston Place this past weekend for a friends wedding. I can not say enough wonderful things about the hotel--it's stunning. Upon arrival the staff was friendly, polite and helpful. They were never over the top (which can get annoying) but rather, they provided genuine service. I left feeling like they were my friends. The club level was fun and also a great place to escape for some downtime. The food and drinks were satisfying and delicious. The beds are comfortable, clean and right on trend with the bed scarf. Somehow they managed to pull off southern charm mixed with a modern flair. It came together beautifully. After the rehearsal dinner we went to the Thoroughbred Club. It was so much fun! The bartenders were so good we went back the following night after the wedding!! A friend of mine's daughter lost her "blanky" and the housekeepers were able to find it and return it to her. They cared enough about a 5 year old to sort through the laundry and recover it. WOW!! I will never stay anywhere else when I visit the city. Thank you Charleston Place staff, your hotel and service were beyond my expectations.

Room Tip: The club level is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCadyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from the Charleston Place Hotel - what a fantastic experience. I would definitely recommend paying for Club Level room - you will have access to the fantastic breakfasts, teas, aperitivi and desserts all day long. The drinks (including mixed drinks, wine, champagne) are all included and the service is top-notch. This hotel really understands customer service - and it 's a beautiful place, stunning actually. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amlwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed 1 night. Very nice room, great service...the only thing wrong with it...the shower. Water pressure was terrible. This is a continuing theme that I am finding more and more. Hotel work to offer terrific service and wonderful beds...but the showers are terrible.

Fix the shower..more pressure better heads...nuff said

Room Tip: Room on 2nd floor (217) was a bit noisy with buses in the morning...not sure what street it was faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,986 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,930 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 21,237 - ₹ 44,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing