We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
pittsburgh, pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel.”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Perfect location between Meeting and King streets. Ten minute walk to the Market, thirty minute walk to the Battery. Small outdoor pool and fitness center. King room was very spacious, with typical Marriott/Renaissance style. Comfy bed.
We checked in early, around 10am, and they had a room available for us immediately. That made for a great start to our day. The Housekeeping staff (especially Karen) was most accommodating too.
Parking garage across street. You can self park for $12 with in/out all day. Spots designated for hotel guests on 2nd and 3rd floors. You can valet too for a little extra, but really not necessary.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    394
    150
    55
    29
See reviews for
193
470
22
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed for only two nights, but plan to go back for a week. The staff was terrific, even going so far as to lend me a staff member's unberella since they were out of the hotel loaners. The rooms were clean, beds were great. Breakfast was exceptional. The location is easy walking distance to many great restaurants and shops. You can't go wrong if you stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I had a 5 nights stay at the Renaissance Charleston hotel, It was a great stay. The hotel was so close to the historic district area in Charleston, king street and the market which was a great location to discover the city. I enjoyed the spacious room with a king very comfortable bed and great furniture, The problem was with the view which overlooked on side buildings. The reception staff were so helpful where they ordered me a taxi everyday with the awesome cab service " Russ Transportation". I had a breakfast buffet at the restaurant which was cool but with a very limited variety. I think Renaissance is great choice for Charleston but its over rated in price with more than $200 per night.

Room Tip: Take rooms overlooking on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I took my teen age daughter, mother daughter last hurrah b 4 school trip. Hotel had a good location, so we would be able to walk, booked it based on the past reviews and location. Upon getting there, we drove about 400 miles...desk clerk greeted us and then rudely picked up the phone and proceeded to talk to whomever...then finally, gave us our room. We got in and the first thing my daughter noticed was the view! She laughed because the "view" we had, was the tops of old rust roofs. Not too great. I called downstairs and asked if we could get a room with a view...well before I even finished asking, the girl put me on hold, and forgot about us I guess so I hung up and recalled downstairs only to be lectured on how there are city ordinances in place and all buildings here in C down dont have that great a view. Well, for the money we spent, I thought we would have a bit more to c from our room, esp since it rained all afternoon and night just about, room was average, not big at all, clean, beds were comfortable. I did notice in the pool there were cigarettes floating around and roaches laying on the carpet upstairs on level 6. I also noticed some vacant rooms on level 4 and with a view! I doubt if we would stay here again, poor customer service, and that is what really would have made a difference here. The front desk was run by a couple of younger folks, and well...they need further training on customer care.
We went on to Myrtle beach area and had a great time there at a less expensive hotel, on the beach and I only wish we went there first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Dont let them tell you there are none, there are, and for what they cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrickandFrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit, MO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We loved the location of the Renaissance Charleston Hotel.....parked our car and did not use it again til time to go home! The accommodations were very nice and comfortable. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud! Everyone was quite helpful in giving recommendations of where to dine or where to sightsee. We enjoyed the bar for an evening drink and then the breakfast the next a.m. A special thank you to "Brooke" who was at the front desk the morning I called after we had left and I had thought I had left a pair of shoes behind. She sensed my distress and took care of things by going the extra mile in helping me. She, to me, was exemplary of what customer service is all about. The restaurants we particularly enjoyed when staying here were "Husk" and "Hanks".

Room Tip: I am not sure what needs to be done to ensure a good room. We really wanted one of the rooms with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skmadkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Charleston, Autograph Collection
0.4 km away
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,542 reviews
0.2 km away
The Restoration
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,358 reviews
0.3 km away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
0.3 km away
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,085 - ₹ 31,531
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around every wrought-iron fence, narrow cobble stoned street, and moss-draped oak, there is something charmingly Southern to discover in Charleston, SC. When you step through the doors of the re-imagined Renaissance® Charleston Historic District Hotel, this unique Charleston paradigm unfolds. More than just a place to lay your head, our new guest rooms evoke a personal home-like space, furnished and decorated with a mix of modern and vintage pieces collected over time, and local finds one might discover on famous King Street. Stay energized with our fitness center and outdoor saltwater pool or our Navigator can help you discover nearby historic landmarks, shopping, dining and entertainment. One of the city's most renowned small event destinations, our locally inspired breaks and creative room set ups offer the perfect location for weddings and meetings designed for the senses. Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel is a place that never gets old, no matter how much history surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing