We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive...great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive...great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed here for a conference so didn't spend much time in the hotel itself. It was a fine hotel with an average size room. There was a view of rooftops and the sides of other buildings out my window - guess that is to be expected since everything is awfully close together in that area of town. I seriously doubt I would ever spend the kind of money it costs to stay there - it definitely doesn't seem to be worth that price.
The location is key. It's steps away from tons of shops on King St. And, it's a short walk from the water front. I really would suggest spending as much time as you can out of the hotel simply walking the neighborhoods, exploring Charleston. It's truly a fascinating town.
I discovered a small salon beside the hotel on Wentworth (Whispers, I think) that did a great job of squeezing me in when I desperately needed a new style (the humidity in Charleston was doing a number on my hair).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SBMLMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    383
    145
    51
    28
See reviews for
188
456
22
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great location, you can walk to all the interesting venues. The breakfast crab cakes are outrageously good. Very clean hotel with a courteous, knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

If you want a beautiful place to stay, be pampered and an enjoy an delicious breakfast I highly recommend no other place than the Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District. They have a super staff that greets you at the door and makes you feel so special. This hotel is located in the perfect location within walking distance to everything on King Strret, Sociiety Street, and Market Street. The selection of restaurants is endless. You can park your car and forget about it until it is time to leave. Many thanks to Bryan Wonder, GM and Parker! Thank you so much for making our stay so special!! We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWAlLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I'm in my third trimester and went for a family 'girls weekend' to Charleston in late April. We were taken care of from the moment we arrived to the time the latch shut on the trunk as we were leaving. The bellmen were friendly and gave great recommendations. Wilbur cooks the most perfect fried eggs you could imagine. All the wait staff were great when we had breakfast both mornings - I have a food allergy and they made sure I was taken care of and had plenty of options. In fact Wilbur checked again on Sunday morning about the buffet line because there were different people preparing the food that morning than the previous one. He spotted me arriving and quickly came over to tell me he would check for me. That is service! You won't find better service or a more comfortable stay than at the Renaissance! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tm9339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san clemente ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Such a great location in old town Charleston! Just a short walk to all the great restaurants, shopping, tourist attractions, nightspots! Use the human powered rickshaws to get to dinner, tourist sites.... the bellman/front desk can help you with that!
Really enjoyed the outdoor lounge area to sit, sip on a cool drink and read the paper.... relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinerosdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
The Restoration
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,841 - ₹ 38,269
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around every wrought-iron fence, narrow cobble stoned street, and moss-draped oak, there is something charmingly Southern to discover in Charleston, SC. When you step through the doors of the re-imagined Renaissance® Charleston Historic District Hotel, this unique Charleston paradigm unfolds. More than just a place to lay your head, our new guest rooms evoke a personal home-like space, furnished and decorated with a mix of modern and vintage pieces collected over time, and local finds one might discover on famous King Street. Stay energized with our fitness center and outdoor saltwater pool or our Navigator can help you discover nearby historic landmarks, shopping, dining and entertainment. One of the city's most renowned small event destinations, our locally inspired breaks and creative room set ups offer the perfect location for weddings and meetings designed for the senses. Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel is a place that never gets old, no matter how much history surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing