We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
310
214
73
31
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
214
73
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom suite front desk evening shuttle shuttle service free shuttle folly beach california dreaming a pet friendly hotel historic district the hotel offers the staff was extremely friendly yogurt evening reception free breakfast early check the breakfast area nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Marriott Residence Inns are great for family travel, and this property is no exception to that. Decent-sized suite with a kitchen area, very clean and well-provisioned, free wi-fi & parking, daily hot breakfast included. Everyone who works there is friendly and helpful. They also serve a free small "meal" in the evening (pizza one night, chicken sandwiches another) Though it is not far from the historic downtown area, you do need a car.

Room tip: There are not "river views" here; we stayed on the top floor & found it to be pretty quiet.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel. Very kind staff, great breakfast buffet and wonderful afternoon snacks - we enjoyed the Tuesday grill night. The only "but" is that the room was a little small. For the price we were paying we expected it to be more spacious, but it wasn't. However, we managed to move around without bumping with each other or our kids - the sofa bed would have been opened only at bedtime! They also offered a free shuttle to downtown- we didn't use it because it started after 5pm and we were on our way back FROM downtown at that time, but it seems pretty convenient.

Overall, we would enjoy staying there again!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SandyZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Our stay was great. We were able to cook most meals in the kitchen, and our dog was very comfortable. There is a large field to the side of the hotel to walk her. Apparently pets are put into rooms with doorbells. The breakfasts are wonderful, and it's one less meal to cook/buy.

I took my dog to Sullivans Island to run free on the beach each morning, which is about 15 minute drive.

The hotel provides a free shuttle to downtown Charleston, which starts at 5pm.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank perpetua3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Perpetua3d,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you and your dog had a great stay with us and got to visit Sullivan's Island. We hope to welcome you and your four-legged friend back soon. Until then, wishing you a wonderful new year.
Yours in Hospitality,
Ashley G.
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We selected this hotel because it states they are pet friendly. Charging a $100 non-refundable fee for a pet is NOT friendly. We have stayed at several other Residence Inns in other cities and this is the ONLY one to ever charge us. The manager was unwilling to wave the fee. This was a disappointment for my family. Allowing pets and being pet FRIENDLY are different terms in my opinion.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rachelfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Dear Rachelfrazier,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are saddened to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I would like to inform you that we have a professional cleaning company come each time a pet stays with us so that guest with allergies are not effected. That is the only reason that we charge that much for our pet fee, it is just to cover the cleaning. This is standard for all pet friendly Marriott hotels. We would love to welcome you and your dog back anytime y'all are in the area. Until then, wishing you a happy holidays.

Your in Hospitality,
Ashley Gerthoffer
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Rather than write a typical review, I'll share what I wrote in my first-ever thank you card to a hotel staff. The hotel itself has all you need, plus numerous little touches. However, it's because the staff goes above and beyond that we won't stay anywhere else.

"The two-plus weeks that we spent here to adopt our son was the most emotional and stressful time of our lives. While we were expecting the standard high-quality Marriott experience, we received so much more. We have appreciated the daily kindness and generosity of staff members who greeted us with a kind word, kept our room spotless, saved us food when we were running late, shared conversation at the front desk, surprised us with much appreciated baby gifts and made us feel like family rather than customers. We’ve stayed in dozens of anonymous hotels throughout the world, but this is the one we’ll always remember."

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cincan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Cincan20,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review and thank you note on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you had a great say with us and that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay a memorable experience. We wish you luck and can not wait to welcome you back the next time you are in the area. Until then, wishing you a happy holiday season.
Yours in Hospitality,
Ashley Gerthoffer
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews