We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Battery & White Point Gardens
Save
  
Ways to Experience Battery & White Point Gardens
from US$ 20.00
More Info
from US$ 27.56
More Info
from US$ 24.00
More Info
from US$ 39.00
More Info
Reviews (2,195)
Filter reviews
2,141 results
Traveller rating
1,346
640
143
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,346
640
143
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful park ashley and cooper rivers live oaks sea wall antebellum homes old trees oak trees fort sumter east bay nice walk great place to walk civil war rainbow roll meeting street lots of history walk around visiting charleston
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,141 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

I volunteer at the National Park Service's Fort Sumter National Monument. Translated: I met lots of Charleston visitors... and they ask, "Where should I go, what should I see?" "The Battery," as it's called is most definitely Stop #1 in Charleston. If you only have one day, only one afternoon, walking the Battery and White Point Gardens is it. From this vantage point, you'll view several of Charleston's most historic and most impressive homes, will see Charleston Harbor and the King of the Harbor, Fort Sumter, where the first shot of the American Civil War was fired. From here, you'll see historic live oak trees and war monuments and pirate monuments... and will be steps from Rainbow Row and the Old Exchange Building and Broad Street... well, just all of it. Beware: parking is tough (park around the Old Market area, walk down, it's not far); and there is only one public restroom nearby (at the Hazel Parker Playground). Otherwise, stroll and see.

Thank boucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

This park at the tip of the peninsula is a good walk on a hot day but you pass so many beautiful homes and gardens to peer into the time goes fast. The live oaks here are magnificent and provide a lot of welcome shade with many benches to sit on. There is a lot of history here too with monuments and different cannons. Fort Sumter can be seen from here.

Thank BennieG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This park has so much history surrounding and as nice walk by the water. Also a great spot for taking photos
Worth the visit and close to restaurants and other landmarks

Thank PeterTravelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a great place for history. The kids loved looking and reading about the history of the war here. Great place for family

Thank georgef960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing life-changing about the White Point Gardens but it's nice for a quick visit to view the monument, cannons, and nice view from afar of Fort Sumter and Fort Moultrie. Also close to Rainbow Row so I recommend stopping in before or after visiting Rainbow Row.

Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we rode our bike along the parks and view all the beautiful homes. Lovely to see the water across from the park. Its free to visit!

Thank CD33Roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another waterfront park in Historic Charleston bordered by Amazing Antebellum Homes that reinforces the stories about the most millionaires back in the 1800’s! Never knew the rich history this city played in the founding of American and priced they paid to win that freedom!

Thank fbilly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walked down from our hotel one afternoon. Enjoyed the area especially the wonderful breeze. A lovely park.

Thank Inglish48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We always visit the battery at least once each visit to Charleston as I’m a history fanatic..I fish for whiting when were there ,always catch a few..caught a redfish the last time there..our favorite house at the battery is the Palmer house..can’t miss it ,it’s pink..stayed there one night when it was a B and B years ago..it’s having some work done to it when we were there a couple weeks ago..a very nice landmark pic seen at the market shops...

Thank halfatuna2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

This park is a beautiful place to go for a stroll or to simply stop and relax on one of the benches. It provides ample places to pose for photos or to simply stop and reflect on the day. There are nice views here of the Ashley River and the Charleston Harbor. Parking here is free for 2 hours which is enough time for a picnic or a walk checking out the beautiful homes nearby. This park is a must stop when I visit Charleston.

Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews