We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up On The Roof”

Charleston Crab House-Market St
Ranked #53 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: "Southern Seafood and a DARN Good Time"
maryland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Up On The Roof”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stumbled in here on the last night of my trip. A little shabby as far as aesthetics, but the food was good. During the day/early evening, get a table on the rooftop, if you can. Kudos to Morgan for excellent service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ms90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,261
    660
    218
    84
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Great Food!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

There were six of us for lunch & every meal was great! Shrimp & grits, she crab soup, fish & chips, appetizers, crab cakes and more. Loved it all!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank daisytoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient to Charleston Market”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Had an evening meal with friends after a day of touring and shopping. We had reservations and were seated shortly after arrival. The wait staff were friendly and one of our servers was in training. Food orders were taken in a timely manner and food arrived in a reasonable time for the number in our party. I ordered the whole fried flounder which was tasty but a little over cooked. One of our friends ordered crabcakes and was disappointed that they were cold when they arrived. Other than those two comments everyone in our group enjoyed their food. The building was a little older than what I had envisioned but still had a nice atmosphere. There is rooftop dining but it was a little to cool & breezy to sit out the evening we were there.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Soft Shell Crabs.....Again”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Once again, we visited the Charleston Crab House on S Market Street on our way north from Florida for a not to be missed experience. When we arrived, there were several fire trucks in the street because of a fire next door, but that did not deter us from our goal. After a friendly greeting, we were shown to our table on the second floor. Our server, Caitlin, quickly arrived to take our order and we were pleasantly surprised when the manager, Chaz, informed us that he had a bottle of Myer's rum at the bar to make our rum sours. They were fantastic, thanks to their great bartender. And the complimentary Hush Puppies that accompanied them were great. Soon, our bowl of She Crab Soup arrived and it was very good. Then came the main course..perfectly deep fried crispy Soft Shell Crab Dinners. The moist lumps of crab meat they contained were succulent and delicious as ever. The cold corn relish that accompanied them left us wishing for more and the slaw was great too. The assistant manager, Phillip, stopped by a couple times to make sure all was well, which it was. Caitlin saw to our every need with a friendly smile. All in all, the staff is exceptional as is the food. Don't miss this Charleston experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“She-crab soup”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great food, she-crab soup is wonderful along with the green fried tomato's. Right in downtown Charleston across from the Market.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sbidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charleston Crab House-Market St also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Crab House-Market St? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing