We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Our Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlotte Street Cottage
Ranked #18 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent! Our Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Here's all the reasons to stay at Charlotte Street Cottage vs. a hotel: 1) Hospitality: Thank you Lisa and Jeff for your warm and generous hospitality. We loved the wine, fresh strawberries, French pastries, snacks, etc. you left for us. We so appreciated Jeff's generous offer to drive us to pick up our rental car, Lisa inviting us into their home to use their computer so we could print out our boarding passes, and all of their helpful recommendations on sights and eats. 2) The cottage is so charming and it felt special to stay somewhere so historical. Immaculate and well appointed with everything you could possibly need: fully stocked kitchen, tv with DVD player (although there's so much to do, you won't have time to watch tv!), interesting reading material, washer/dryer, etc. It's a 2 story home, so you have plenty of room! 3) Location: That was one of the best parts. All the major sights are within walking distance, including a 24 hour grocery store. 4) Value: I researched cost extensively and the cottage is definitely a better deal vs. the high priced downtown hotels. Why pay for a small hotel room when you can stay in a beautiful home with such personal hospitality for less money? We loved it and highly recommend staying at Charlotte Street Cottage!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Charlotte Street Cottage is a charming residence which enjoys the reputation for personalized service.
The owners Geoff and Lisa live in the main house at the front of the lush 1acre garden. The cottage is situated to the rear of the property in a very private secluded garden.
It is located one block from an historic home, main street shopping with boutiques, restaurants, coffee shops and tourist office. Within walking distance to the waterfront, gardens, beautiful neighbourhoods and historical sites.
It has easy access to the highway for day trips to Mt. Pleasant, Plantations, beaches and malls.
The cottage is air conditioned on both floors and is charming and quaint as a cottage should be but has every modern convenience and a good supply of towels and linens.
The owners are as charming as the cottage. They are very helpful and gracious and always on hand.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtown
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2010

An amazing place to stay! As soon as we arrived at 32 Charlotte Street, we felt right at home. The cottage is charming and the owners treat you like family. Each of our questions (and we had many) were answered and the owners never made us feel as if we were interrupting their day. It was nice to walk the busy streets of Charleston knowing that you had your quiet peaceful cottage waiting for you at the end of each day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2010

What a blessing it was to have discovered Charlotte Street Cottage online before visiting Charleston, S.C. It was a gracious, warm, and inviting home away from home during our stay there. Beautifully and comfortably furnished, filled with light from the many windows that overlooked the glorious gardens, Charlotte street Cottage filled my heart with joy every time I stepped through its doors. After long days of exploring the streets of Charleston, it was such an absolute pleasure to return to this inviting sanctuary. its proprietors, Lisa and Geoff, could not have been more friendly or helpful with their inviting greetings or generous advice on everything from the best restaurants to dine in to the local haunts not to be missed. I can honestly say it was one of my all-time favorite vacation accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhughes595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I cannot overstate the comfort and quiet gentility of Charlotte Street Cottage. Every detail was attended to in the cleanliness, decor and amenities. Lisa and Geoff were the perfect combination of present and available. Such lovely people. The cottage itself made me imagine myself a resident at home in Charleston and the location was perfect for sightseeing with many fine dining establishments within easy walking distance. There is parking inside the gate right next to the cottage, another luxury! I cannot imagine ever staying anyplace else when I return to beautiful Charleston!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
950 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,178 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,044 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Cottage

Property: Charlotte Street Cottage
Address: 32 Charlotte St, Charleston, SC 29403-6330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and private 1820's 2 bedroom kitchen house on an acre of gardens in historic downtown. Like a french country cottage. Amenities include full kitchen, living room, washer/dryer, private garden, cable T.V., WiFi. Walk to all. Just bring your toothbrush! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street Cottage Hotel Charleston
Charlotte South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing