We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Like the previous reviewer, I have just spent time in The King George IV Inn and would recommend it wholeheartedly. Charlene could not have made us feel more welcome and she certainly made us laugh. The location is great for wondering around Charleston on foot. Everything is so close whether it be shops, restaurants or historic buildings. We stayed in room 4, which has a living room as well as a bedroom with en suite shower. The living room was spacious and comfortable and had a door leading out to a private balcony with a wrought iron staircase which took you down to the car park. Yes, the balcony does overlook the car park, but it was still very pleasant to sit out sipping wine in the warm sunshine. The en suite is small however, particularly the shower cubicle itself, but there was plenty of shelf space and good lighting.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    118
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
296
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We just spent 1 night here on our way back to Cape Cod. I wish I could have spent longer. The Inn was so charming and a great location. When we travel we try and stay at B&B's as we love the welcome and homey feel. We could not have been welcomed any better. Charlene, the head person in charge was wonderful. She was friendly, funny and had a lot of information to share with us. You could tell how proud she was of this Inn. She talked about it with such love and care as if it was her own. When my friend mentioned that we liked grits she said she would make them for us and she did. I must say they were delicious. She made a great breakfast with homemade breads as well. We talked about our lives and even showed pictures of our family and her family. We laughed and really felt at home like visiting a good friend. How lucky the owner of this Inn is to have such a special employee. We will be returning to this Inn again for sure.

The rooms were clean, breakfast was great, and the breakfast area is open all day with cookies, coffee, tea, etc. What a great find.

Room Tip: All the rooms have private baths, except the 2 rooms on the top floor which we had as we were travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capecoddmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This charming and historic B and B quickly becomes home due to the care and attention
of the head housekeeper, Charlene. She immediately takes you under her wing and
helps you make the most of your time in Charleston. Her thoughtfulness and warmth,
along with a heavy dose of good humor, makes the breakfast room a joyful way to start
your day.
The owners were out of town - how lucky they are to have Charlene take care of their guests!
Room 1C was roomy and comfortable, but needed a couple of repairs - fan in bathroom not
working, switch on bedside lamp broken.
Free parking and a great rate make this place a good value. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i0wahawkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, GA USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just got home from spending 3 wonderful nights at the King George IV Inn in Charleston. We stayed in IB which was very nice. It was charming with a wrought iron bed, settee, chair and bureau. Very spacious and homey. At first I was concerned it might be noisy because it is adjacent to the breakfast room; however, Charlene was very consciencious of this and we were never awakened early when she was busy getting things ready for the day.

Charlene was amazing! The owners happened to be out of town, but she made us feel right at home and gave us a warm welcome. She shared the history of the house with us, gave us restaurant recommendations, cooked a delicious breakfast every morning and made sure we were enjoying not only our stay at the inn, but also our visit in Charleston. Every restaurant she recommended was wonderful. Our favorite was Jestine's (right around the corner)...wonderful home cooked food and amazing desserts.

The location of the inn is within walking distance of everything in the historic district. It was nice to have off street parking and we simply parked our car at the inn and walked everywhere during our stay.

The breakfast room is quite small (seats only about 10 people at a time), but it never seemed a problem while we were there even though the inn was at capacity the whole time. It was great to sit and chat with the other guests and share stories.

We are already planning another trip to Charleston and plan to stay at Kinge George IV Inn once again!

On a side note...we were fortunate enough to attend "The Sounds of Charleston - From gospel to Gershwin" concert at the Circular Church on Friday night. We highly recommend this event as it blended music with Charleston's history. This concert is offered every Friday night throughout the year and tickets can be purchased at the Visitor Center or at the door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italianlady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our hosts, Terry and Debra, seemed genuinely interested in making us feel comfortable. Doors from King Street, The King George IV provided us a spacious 2nd floor room (formerly the parlour) with abundant character. Located within walking distance of Charleston's Historic District, the inn offered secure parking, and easy access to the several first-class restaurants we had made priorities of our visit. When advice was sought regarding a casual dining experience, Terry was quick to recommend Virginia's on King Street, where the She-Crab Soup was said to be super. He was absolutely correct. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: The upper rooms require ascending a fairly steep, outdoor staircase, whereupon one can find comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHOGara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,758 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
The Restoration
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,006 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Property: King George IV Inn
Address: 32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,691 - ₹ 15,451
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step into the past and feel the history of Charleston around you." King George IV Inn is a 200-year old (c.1790) historic home. The house is named The "Peter Freneau House," after a prominent Charleston journalist, and co-owner of the Charleston City Gazette. The inn is a four-story Federal style house, with Charleston porches overlooking a lovely courtyard. All rooms are furnished with a nice combination of antiques and reproductions. King George IV Inn is located in the heart of the historic district. One minute walk to King Street shopping and dining and only a five minute walk to the historic market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing