We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Planters Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 269
US$ 238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$ 443
US$ 366
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 197
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 100
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wentworth Mansion(Charleston)
US$ 485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,010)
Filter reviews
2,010 results
Traveller rating
1,577
266
112
41
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,577
266
112
41
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeninsula grillcoconut cakerelais chateauxteddy bearplantation kingsouthern charmsweet teaturn down servicestreet noisefour poster bedsitting roomperfect locationsmall hotelmarket streetcharming hotellovely roomhistoric district
Filter
Updating list...
1,714 - 1,719 of 2,010 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Everyone is so nice and helpful. The rooms are beautifully appointed with the finest and kept wondefully clean. All of the staff, from the Bellman at the front door upon arrival to the housekeepers you meet in the hallways, are the best and so friendly. My choice for the second time in Charleston and will always be my choice in the future. Even though there is no coffee in the room to make yourself, there is a lovely parlar room on the first floor that serves coffee and tea in the morning and tea and lemon ade in the afternoon with cookies, hummy.
Thank you
Paulette

Room Tip: Have always stayed in the North rooms and have been pleased. Nothing to complain about.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

We love to hear from our guests, especially those that share their experiences following a second or third visit. It is a true testament to our staff, location, property and restaurant when our loyal guests continue to return and offer such praise. Many Thanks!
Bradley Dickerson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We spent five nights in one of the courtyard rooms. The room was dandy. The staff was very knowledgeable and, this is very good, interested in our opinions on restaurants that were unfamiliar. There is a particularly good selection of new restaurants at the north end of King Street. Bags and car were handled quickly and without scrapes or dents. The location of Planters is also good for lots of walking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Terrific news! Thank you for your gracious comments regarding our staff, location and our Courtyard rooms. We pleased to hear you enjoyed our property and City. Untlil next time, Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had been tipped off to request a quiet room, and we had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard that was spacious and clean, with an extremely comfortable bed. The staff was gracious and helpful without fail, dealing with our bags and car quickly and promptly, and the front desk was able to answer all our questions with a smile. We loved our dinner at the Peninsula Grill, as well as our three breakfasts. This is just the sort of small hotel that my wife and I love, and thought they earned their Relais & Chateau designation. If we find ourselves in Charleston again we will be back.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. Ours was on the second floor and very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

It is true, our select courtyard rooms are some of Charleston’s finest. Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. We are happy to share your positive comments with the entire service team. Without a doubt, our staff offers the Southern hospitality Charleston is known to embody. Let us know when you are ready to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We recently stayed here for one night after Easter. This was one of the nicest places I have stayed. The rooms are amazing. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The large bathroom was clean with nice toiletries.

The location is fantastic. You can walk everywhere from there. The staff is friendly and professional and very helpful if you need recommendations on anything local.

My only criticism is the lack of a fitness center, but everything else was so great, that I didn't mind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We appreciate your comments and look forward to assisting you in the future.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

There are few hotels that extend themselves in the manner that the Planter's Inn does. This hotel provides an exceptional experience and does so without being intrusive or overbearing. The rooms are elegant, well-appointed and expansive. There is a complete sense of being in Charleston communicated via the decor, the tasteful appointments and the superior restaurant connected to the main building. The enclosed courtyard provides a wonderful setting for breakfast and is a perfect way to relax and organize your day. The location is ideal for taking in the market, the historical destinations and the dining options. We will return and will rely on the Planter's Inn for all future ventures into historic Charleston.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quoteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you for the gracious review and your kind words. We agree “exceptional service without being intrusive or overbearing” is the hallmark of a great hotel. Combined with our amazing location, spacious guest rooms, and award winning Peninsula Grill, we are truly Charleston’s finest small boutique hotel and are very pleased to hear you agree! We look forward to your next visit to Planters Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews