We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect honeymoon!”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect honeymoon!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at Planters Inn last June for our honeymoon and our stay couldn't have been more perfect. We requested assistance in planning our trip and Carolyn planned everything to perfection. She secured us tickets to various attractions, recommended restaurants which provided us with some of the best food we have ever had, pointed us in the direction of some great beaches, and selected for us the perfect room. Carolyn proved to be an invaluable asset as we planned our trip. In regards to the hotel itself, we will never stay anywhere but Planters when we return to Charleston. The Plantation King room we stayed in was huge and comfortable and had a beautiful view of the courtyard which meant that it was very quiet. We really enjoyed the spiced iced tea and fresh lemonade available every day as it was the perfect ending to a beautiful day of walking around one of the most beautiful cities in the US!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRTRPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for selecting the Planters Inn to share in your very special occasion. It is even more special that you take the time to share your comments and memories months after departing. Lasting memories make for excitement in planning the next "anniversary trip"! Carolyn and all of us at the Planters Inn look foward to helping you with your future plans to return.
Best Wishes for Years to come,
Bradley Dickerson
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    221
    92
    32
    11
See reviews for
230
1,080
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Everyone is so nice and helpful. The rooms are beautifully appointed with the finest and kept wondefully clean. All of the staff, from the Bellman at the front door upon arrival to the housekeepers you meet in the hallways, are the best and so friendly. My choice for the second time in Charleston and will always be my choice in the future. Even though there is no coffee in the room to make yourself, there is a lovely parlar room on the first floor that serves coffee and tea in the morning and tea and lemon ade in the afternoon with cookies, hummy.
Thank you
Paulette

Room Tip: Have always stayed in the North rooms and have been pleased. Nothing to complain about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We love to hear from our guests, especially those that share their experiences following a second or third visit. It is a true testament to our staff, location, property and restaurant when our loyal guests continue to return and offer such praise. Many Thanks!
Bradley Dickerson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We spent five nights in one of the courtyard rooms. The room was dandy. The staff was very knowledgeable and, this is very good, interested in our opinions on restaurants that were unfamiliar. There is a particularly good selection of new restaurants at the north end of King Street. Bags and car were handled quickly and without scrapes or dents. The location of Planters is also good for lots of walking.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Terrific news! Thank you for your gracious comments regarding our staff, location and our Courtyard rooms. We pleased to hear you enjoyed our property and City. Untlil next time, Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had been tipped off to request a quiet room, and we had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard that was spacious and clean, with an extremely comfortable bed. The staff was gracious and helpful without fail, dealing with our bags and car quickly and promptly, and the front desk was able to answer all our questions with a smile. We loved our dinner at the Peninsula Grill, as well as our three breakfasts. This is just the sort of small hotel that my wife and I love, and thought they earned their Relais & Chateau designation. If we find ourselves in Charleston again we will be back.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. Ours was on the second floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
It is true, our select courtyard rooms are some of Charleston’s finest. Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. We are happy to share your positive comments with the entire service team. Without a doubt, our staff offers the Southern hospitality Charleston is known to embody. Let us know when you are ready to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We recently stayed here for one night after Easter. This was one of the nicest places I have stayed. The rooms are amazing. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The large bathroom was clean with nice toiletries.

The location is fantastic. You can walk everywhere from there. The staff is friendly and professional and very helpful if you need recommendations on anything local.

My only criticism is the lack of a fitness center, but everything else was so great, that I didn't mind.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We appreciate your comments and look forward to assisting you in the future.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,798 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,411 - ₹ 32,171
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing