We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
424
207
66
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
207
66
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast king street sister hotel next door great location king's courtyard evening sherry antique shops deluxe king canopy bed within walking distance jetted tub breakfast delivered to our room quaint hotel each morning shopping district room was spacious wine and cheese
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had originally booked into a chain hotel in the North Charleston suburb but were so very happy we boooked into Fulton Lane instead. We found out later that the drive to the
Historic District was lengthy and congested.

This charming gem in the Historic district is within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and The Market, Discover the gracious restored mansions on your stroll to the waterfront.
Our room was clean and spacious with a comfortable 4 poster bed. There was a table for 2 overlooking the street where we leisurely enjoyed our reakfast each morning.
The large bathroom was fresh and modern with a spacious shower.

Yes, Zane and Wylie could benefit from an etiquette course!
However, we found the rest of the staff friendly and amenable.

The delivery of breakfast to our room, the afternoon wine reception and the evening sherry were welcome touches of southern hospitality.
Parking is convenient, behind the hotel for a modest fee.
We had a lovely time and would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: choose one overlooking King Street
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ironduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

There are so many good things about this hotel that I wish I could give it 5 stars. However, I knocked off a star because of the awful check in experience we had with Zane. We arrived at the hotel early for check in and was told that we have to wait till the normal 3pm check in time due to high turn over - totally understandable. Since my husband was sick, we told Zane we'd really appreciate it if we could get checked in as soon as our room is ready. Even though there are comfy couches in the lobby, Zane told us to go wait in the courtyard of their sister hotel 2 doors down. (I guess he just didn't want to interact with guests?) Fast forward to 3pm, we went back to the hotel and was told the room was still not ready. Again we told Zane my husband isn't well and need our room asap. At the point, he was getting ready to leave for a job interview a barely acknowledged us when he left. We waited and waited until another guest came in to check in and was able to do so right away. At the point, we asked Susu what's going on. It turned out Zane never told her we were waiting to check in. All he talked before he left was his job interview! As a result we waited for an hour for nothing... very irritating.
Luckily, the rest of our experience is good. The in room breakfast every morning really makes you feel like you are on vacation. I love the convenience of the bottled water in the lobby at all times so I don't have to carry them back from the store. Evening happy hour is a lovely spread. I've only had a chance to attend 1 night but the staff made a lasting impression. I was one of the last guests to leave. As the server was wrapping up the evening, she went around to the few remaining guests and ensured we had a drink top up before she left. Such hospitality! Finally there's the evening sherry. To be honest, I only did a tasting of each (they have 2), but it's fun touch and makes you feel like you can have a night cap whenever you want. Last but not least, the 12 noon checkout time is rare find these days.
We stayed in room 327 which had a really squeaky bed and is a bit dark. Also, for some reason the mini fridge was placed in the bathroom which I found to be a little gross. That said, the room is a nice size and generally very comfortable. You do hear a bit of the hallway noise but since this is a small hotel, foot traffic is very light and not very bothersome.
Location wise, the hotel entrance is in a little side alley off of King Street. It's close to most of the tourist sites so very convenient. If you want to head to the French Quarter, cut through the car park in the back for a shortcut.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shir1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay. We are very sorry to read about the service you received upon arrival. Your experience certainly does not reflect the high priority we place on customer service and Southern hospitality. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, our complimentary amenities, and the location of our inn. We appreciate your compliments as well as your constructive feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again on your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Don’t waste your time booking here. Hotel was in good location but the room was dirty and we had to complain to get housekeeping to clean the bathroom during our stay. Not worth the price. The reception we got from Wylie (front desk) was poor at best during check in...he made us feel like we were putting him out to check us in.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pcfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that housekeeping did not meet your expectations and certainly did not meet our high standards. Our staff is one of our greatest assets, and we pride ourselves on providing well-maintained​ rooms and the highest level of cleanliness, so your experience does not reflect the high value we place on customer service and Southern hospitality. I can assure you that our executive housekeeper and our Innkeeper will take corrective action so that every room is cleaned thoroughly for every guest. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as we seek 100% guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Fulton in for a couple of days. Great location but that's about all we can say about it. The staff was not very friendly, and the continental breakfast was inadequate. Tried room service but they didn't show up. Then went down to eat breakfast in the common area and had to wait forever for Cheerios. It's really unfortunate because the location is so good, but the service is less than average. In some cases it appeared they were understaffed. For the cost I expected much better service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marcalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a nice time in Charleston and enjoyed our central location. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we constantly look for areas to improve upon. We are very sorry that you experienced difficulty with breakfast service. This is not our standard and I sincerely apologize. We appreciate your feedback as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction. We do hope that you will visit us again on future visits to Charleston.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

As frequent visitors to Charleston we decided to stay two nights at the Fulton Lane Inn. The entrance to the lot is on Market Street just around 40 yards from Meeting Street and the Market area. We were able to get a parking spot right outside the door of the inn.

The small lobby has front desk area for the agent and a small area that serves morning coffee and evening Sherry.

The single elevator took us to our room #236 which fronts King Street which turned out to be very quiet which is a plus as Charleston can have very loud traffic noise in the morning.
Our room was older, obviously, as this is an inn with dated and almost antique furnishings but with a modern bathroom, TV and a small fridge in the bath. Actually it was kind of cozy and had a A/C unit that was more quiet than most modern hotels.
There is a wine and cheese reception each night at the sister inn, Kings Courtyard, right next door which is fine for a pre dinner snack and drink.
Morning breakfast is at the Kings Courtyard as well or can be delivered right to your room if you like. Bagels, toast, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, beverages etc. are all on the menu and included with the room rate.

Parking is $14 per day

All in all a very pleasant stay at a very convenient location and a very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Facing King Street for a quiet night.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews