We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable historic mansion”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We recently spent four nights at the Wentworth Mansion and found it to be – despite its size (24,000 square feet) and grandeur – very comfortable and welcoming. Staff members are unfailingly friendly and helpful, and a wide range of amenities is offered: coffee and pastries each morning in the house; full breakfast in Circa 1886, the highly-rated restaurant located in the adjacent carriage house; tea and lemonade in the parlor during the afternoon; wine and appetizers (from Circa 1886) each evening from 5 to 6 on the sunporch; and cordials available all day – not to mention the cupola, which offers a wonderful 360 degree view of Charleston. Our room, one of the mansion’s original bedrooms, was spacious, with a sitting area, a gas fireplace, and a huge bathroom that included a jetted tub and glass-enclosed shower. My one criticism – and the reason I’m not giving the hotel an “excellent” rating – is the housekeeping and maintenance. Although the house underwent a very high-quality rehabilitation in the 1990s, it’s now showing some signs of wear and tear (stains here and there on carpets and upholstery, scratches on wooden furniture, smudges on the wall around light switches, etc.), and the housekeeping staff needs to step it up a notch. Our room was obviously dusty in places (picking up a pamphlet from a bedside table, for instance, sent dust flying), and corners looked a bit grimy. I own and live in a Victorian house myself and know they aren’t easy to keep spotless, but a hotel that bills itself as “one of the world’s finest” – and charges $300 and up per night – really should be spotless and perfectly maintained. The only other drawback is that the house is a bit farther away from the King Street-Meeting Street area, the heart of downtown Charleston, than many of its competitors.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (853)
There are newer reviews for Wentworth Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 615 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

Larry and I spent part of our vacation in Charleston. My favorite city, by the way. We decided, because our stay was so perfect, to stay again at the Wentworth. We were not disappointed. Last time we stayed in room 17. This time, because of the reviews, we chose room 13. I don't know if we are biased, but we will ask for room 17 again. Not because it wasn't awesome, just maybe sentimental value. This mansion does not fail to please. We will make this our choice when visiting Charleston. We ate at Circa as well. Lovely, wonderful place. The staff at the Wentworth is the best. I await this to be chosen the number one place in Charleston.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both 13 and 17. Either one was most appealing. I am sure, whichever room is chosen...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryandLoisLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I agree with those who have posted the highest accolades for the Wentworth Mansion. We rate this the finest hotel at which we have ever stayed. Everything was perfect. Everything.

We stayed in Room #14, a very large room on the 3rd floor. The room was perfect. There were windows across from each other, a real novelty. There was a very nice gas fireplace, both warming and romantic. There was a sitting room off of the bedroom with chairs and a TV. The very large bathroom featured a marble floor, a large whirlpool tub, and a large shower with shower heads at both ends.

Because this weekend was a special occasion, the hotel suprised us the first evening with a fire in the fireplace awaiting our return PLUS candles on the mantel and a chilled bottle of champagne.

The little touches were extraordinary. Wine and hors d'oeuvres each afternoon, cognac available all day, cold sodas and water all day in the room, truffles in the evening, and a complementary full breakfast at the Circa 1886 Restaurant.

The staff at the hotel and the restaurant were superb and very courteous. Due to the popularity of the restaurant, evening parking is very limited. The hotel staff met us at the car, then took the car to an offsite lot. Later in the evening, they returned the car to their lot and held the keys at the desk.

The Wentworth Mansion is an absolute must!

Room Tip: Room 14 has windows on two opposite sides of the room. Wonderful lighting and views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary2hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Magnificent Southern charm in a stunning setting. The hotel was the 1800's mansion of Charleston's cotton king.The service was only exceeded by the accomodations. We had a fireplace in the bedroom as well as the bathroom! Breakfast was included in the daily rate (a little pricey, but worth it) right across the yard in Circa 1886 (a 5star restaurant). Every day at 5pm they serve complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres on the sun porch - a very classy touch. The concierge was extremely helpful as well.
All in all, a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ernieg114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This was our second time staying and we loved it as much as we did the first time. The Mansion is just gorgeous and loaded with charm. The staff is very friendly and courteous and the food is excellent. Free and ample parking with easy access to your vehicle is a huge plus. If you are looking for a great place to relax and unwind, this is it!

Room Tip: ask for the top floor! Views of the city are gorgeous.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewEnglandPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,879 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 24,037 - ₹ 35,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing