We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

My husband, brother, and I traveled to Charleston for a week vacation; staying at the Vendue. My husband and I are huge travelers both national and international. This was one of the best experiences we have EVER had at a hotel.

Location- You couldn't find a more perfect location than where the vendue is located. Right off the water in the historical district surrounded by all Charleston's top restaurants, popular landmarks, and amazing shopping. You are a short walking distance from almost all of the "must-see" places.

Ambiance- It's an art hotel and its incredible. No two rooms are the same. The art is mesmerizing. The rooms are beautiful, unique, and comfortable. Truffles on your pillow, sherry night caps in your room, milk and cookies in the evening....you couldn't ask for anything more perfect. Their rooftop restaurant has views for days, and the drawing room has an amazing bar/menu.

Staff- When we arrived, we were immediately greeted with champagne and a friendly front desk. Erik Zanghirella welcomed us as we were checking in then gave us a tour of the hotel. We got to see places we likely wouldn't of ventured to and got a little insight on the history of this beautiful location. He was so professional and welcoming; even recommending restaurants and things to do in the area. And this was all within the first 20 minutes of arriving! We valeted our car and got to know the valet guys during our time there. They were always asking us how our day went. Super friendly.

Overall- This is the place to stay if you are visiting Charleston. Every part of our experience here was phenomenal. Where one stays often impacts the overall satisfactory of a trip. The vendue offers such an elevated level of ambiance and service in the heart of a premium location that you literally could not ask for more.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Perfect location in the heart of downtown Charleston! Close walking distance to many great restaurants and bars, including the Vendue's very own rooftop bar that overlooks the city. The hotel was immaculate with beautiful art pieces throughout. We even received a glass of champagne upon arrival, and the room came with complimentary Sherry! Couldn't have asked for anything better for a 5 day vacation in Charleston.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmonson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We've visited the Vendue several times; once before it was remodeled and twice after. It is a 5-star experience in terms of staffing, ambiance, location and cuisine. Leah, our breakfast server, is exceptionally personable and Ed and Marcus, two of the doormen, remembered us from our stay three years ago! All staff seem to know your name and every time they see you, they greet you. I recommend booking the best room you can afford and make sure you're staying in the main building; they have another building across the street. The breakfast menu is excellent and so is the preparation so if you're able to get breakfast vouchers, do so.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in the main house, facing the Vendue Range above the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I checked in late and was told I was in the building across the street. (women at desk as great). The bellmen or someone named "al" showed me to my room because, 'it's not easy to get to". Up three flights of stairs down a random hallway thru the painters studio. The concierge desk in the "building across the street" never has anyone sitting at it. I did ask for shaving cream and was delivered quick. Room was ok. I wasn't "wowed" in anyway. Didn't love the amenities in the room. Got turn down one night but, not the second. Went to the roof top bar in the main building one night.. The staff gave us the impression they wanted to leave and we were getting in the way of them eating and cleaning up the bar. Had one drink and left so the staff could go home. Many other great hotels in town. I stayed at the Restoration few weeks ago.. was AMAZING.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hotelguy2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

If you're visiting Charleston, the French Quarter and specifically, the Vendue (Charleston's Art Hotel) is the place to be. We were visiting with another couple and without prior warning, they managed to find adjoining rooms for us in the 26 Vendue building. Highlight: art curator Emily Rigsby's daily tour of the hotel's attractions. We thoroughly enjoyed the entries in the artist challenge: "Horizon." Low light: despite the fact that the bathroom was absolutely huge, the floor had signs of water damage.

Room Tip: The 26 Vendue building is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Billardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,867 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,937 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,466 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 12,493 - ₹ 26,345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing