We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,536)
Filter reviews
2,536 results
Traveller rating
1,745
495
154
84
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,745
495
154
84
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomrooftop barart tourresident artistmilk and cookiescomplimentary sherryvendue rangemain buildingwaterfront parkcomplimentary bikessouthern breakfastno windowwine receptiongas fireplaceperfect locationqueen roomfrench quarter
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 2,536 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Perfect location in the heart of downtown Charleston! Close walking distance to many great restaurants and bars, including the Vendue's very own rooftop bar that overlooks the city. The hotel was immaculate with beautiful art pieces throughout. We even received a glass of champagne upon arrival, and the room came with complimentary Sherry! Couldn't have asked for anything better for a 5 day vacation in Charleston.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmonson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We've visited the Vendue several times; once before it was remodeled and twice after. It is a 5-star experience in terms of staffing, ambiance, location and cuisine. Leah, our breakfast server, is exceptionally personable and Ed and Marcus, two of the doormen, remembered us from our stay three years ago! All staff seem to know your name and every time they see you, they greet you. I recommend booking the best room you can afford and make sure you're staying in the main building; they have another building across the street. The breakfast menu is excellent and so is the preparation so if you're able to get breakfast vouchers, do so.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in the main house, facing the Vendue Range above the second floor.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I checked in late and was told I was in the building across the street. (women at desk as great). The bellmen or someone named "al" showed me to my room because, 'it's not easy to get to". Up three flights of stairs down a random hallway thru the painters studio. The concierge desk in the "building across the street" never has anyone sitting at it. I did ask for shaving cream and was delivered quick. Room was ok. I wasn't "wowed" in anyway. Didn't love the amenities in the room. Got turn down one night but, not the second. Went to the roof top bar in the main building one night.. The staff gave us the impression they wanted to leave and we were getting in the way of them eating and cleaning up the bar. Had one drink and left so the staff could go home. Many other great hotels in town. I stayed at the Restoration few weeks ago.. was AMAZING.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hotelguy2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

If you're visiting Charleston, the French Quarter and specifically, the Vendue (Charleston's Art Hotel) is the place to be. We were visiting with another couple and without prior warning, they managed to find adjoining rooms for us in the 26 Vendue building. Highlight: art curator Emily Rigsby's daily tour of the hotel's attractions. We thoroughly enjoyed the entries in the artist challenge: "Horizon." Low light: despite the fact that the bathroom was absolutely huge, the floor had signs of water damage.

Room Tip: The 26 Vendue building is very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Billardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The Vendue had been my 'go to' Hotel for 15 years in Charleston having stayed at most 4 star properties in town. This is a large statement considering the numerous amounts of wonderful properties throughout the Holy City.

The moment you arrive you know you are somewhere 'special'. In the lobby, the warm and engaging staff will greet you with smiles and a welcomed feeling. The rooms are plush and exude modern comfort through a classic framework.

If you love culinary as I do, you will enjoy fabulous offerings at The Drawing Room restaurant. Want a final-final after dinner...? Just take the elevator to The Rooftop Bar...best in town!

Can't wait to be back! ;)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Laurence V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews