We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you must consider this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“you must consider this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

our first time in charleston driving from our home in Florida to our home in nh. this hotel expierene made us to want to extend our stay in this fabulous city. we have to give this hotel a 5 plus star rating, for it's staff, location and a lot more. we are fussy and this wonderful hotel is a the reason we will return to charleston and stay at the venue inn.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Valcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,383
    401
    115
    70
    43
See reviews for
191
1,352
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We pulled up to the front entrance, waved hi, and were immediately greeted by Alex, who was the most polite, friendly, and informative person we could imagine, welcoming us to Charleston! Right away, we were checked in and escorted to a lovely corner room (#204) - creamy walls, high ceiling, gas fireplace, 2 queen beds which were like sleeping on clouds, and a full decanter of sherry - how very nice! The bathroom was smartly adorned with a neoclassic border, lots of towels, and delightful toiletries with an intriguing blood-orange fragrance. I'm a history buff, so I really liked the exposed antique brick walls in the downstairs concierge area - this was once a 19th-century warehouse. The complimentary full breakfast was wonderful - a wide array of choices and generous portions, with impeccable service. The location, deep in the Old Historic District and close to Waterfront Park, was superb, and so was our entire experience at the Vendue Inn, thanks to its excellent staff. Manager Susie Ridder is obviously doing an impressive job here! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

If I could give Vendue Inn 3.5 stars, I would. I think the main draw for the hotel is the location, which is fabulous: near the water and near the markets and restaurants. We stayed for three nights in an interior room, while family members stayed in a Queen room (both were not in the main building, but were across the street in the annex). First, the interior room was a pleasant surprise. It had a good amount of light and a decent size, but the bathroom did not have a fan. However, the Queen, which was more expensive, was actually smaller than the interior room and the only difference seemed to be the window (which looked out to a bunch of wires and rocks). It is not worth the price difference. That said, the walls are very thin and you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms next door and down the hall. We never had a night where we weren't woken up at least twice by people having normal conversations in the hall; the sound ricochets everywhere. This to me is the major flaw with this hotel.

The breakfast was good, and the wine and cocktail hour is a nice touch, although I would rather the rooms be cheaper than have this included (it doesn't seem worth the price). Also, most of the staff was fabulous, but the male check in person from the morning (the afternoon and evening male check in person was a delight) was not friendly or accommodating. Also, as an FYI, the Rooftop Bar is really casual (think college kids and shot girls), which wasn't really what we were picturing. It is super popular, so obviously people like it, but we were thinking it would be more low key and upscale for some reason.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfitzsimv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
554 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel has a very good location in Charleston -- very near Market Square, the horse-drawn carriages, the waterfront and numerous fine restaurants. The staff is very helpful, the hotel is immaculate, and they provide several nice touches--afternoon wine and cheese and cookies and milk at night. The only concern is that the rooms have very thin walls so it can be quite noisy, so ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Be sure to insist on a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent three nights at the Vendue Inn celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary. For starters let me say the good. You cannot get more central in location than staying here. You are just a brief walk to the waterfront, their rooftop bar has some of the best views of the city and you can literally walk out your door and into some of the best restaurants Charleston has to offer. The coffee service in the morning is good and plentiful. They set it out by 6:30 a.m. and keep it out well into the morning, even setting out to go cups so you can take a cup of joe with you. Breakfast is delicious but our breakfast experience is also part of our negatives with Vendue.

Our room was across the street from the main inn which contains the Library restaurant and entrance to the Rooftop Bar so don't necessarily think you are staying in the main inn when booking. It was on the first floor and absorbed alot of noise including windows which looked out into an alley way that had several people walking by. But overall very nice decor and the bed was comfy.

When we checked in we mentioned celebrating our anniversary and asked if we could be considered for any room upgrades. We were told there were Jr. Suites available for 2 out of the three nights and they would up grade us but for the regular price difference. If this was the least of our gripes then we'd just chalk it up to a fairly full hotel that didn't concern itself with hoping first time customers would continue to come back to celebrate their anniversary. But, it wasn't.

We had booked a complete package with Priceline which included breakfast every morning. As we were signing our keys out we were asked if we wanted to add breakfast for an additional $15. Once I called them out on our package with Priceline they backtracked and said that it was something new they were switching to and they would honor our original deal (what was interesting is that the charge must have been so new they didn't even inform their bellhops, one of which had just taken us on a tour and told us about the complimentary breakfast each morning).

The day before checkout we asked the concierge to secure shuttle service to the airport for us at 7:45 a.m. and he told us the charge would be $35. As we were eating breakfast we noticed the shuttle show up at 7:15, loaded at 7:45 on the dot, got to the airport and the guy asked for $45, telling us he had to charge us the extra $10 because we were late and service was secured as of 7:30. Of course we refused to pay the extra $10.

Finally, we get home to find an $86 charge from the hotel to our credit card. Once my husband called them to investigate they said the charge was for breakfast. While they did back out the charge once he disputed I'd still advice you pay close attention to what you get when you reserve here because they will try to add on charges that you should not be responsible for and frankly who wants to deal with that sort of service especially when vacationing or celebrating a special occasion?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,796 - ₹ 33,521
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing