We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Inn in downtown Charleston is very charming with great service. They accommodated a bachelorette party very well! The sit down breakfast that's included has a great menu and wonderful staff to take care of you. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The beds were very very comfy!

The only cons were that the reception area and lobby were very small...each hallway had a few stairs so if you are rolling heavy luggage you have to lug it up or down a couple steps...I guess just let the bellman struggle with that! The rooms were very clean and pretty but need a little tlc and revamping in the bathrooms. Nothing big but some tile looked worn or damaged. I think they are renovating starting with the suites first.

One minor thing is their TV had limited channels with no music channels! Not a big deal since you won't be staying in the building long because there is so much to do and see in Charleston. But I love some tunes to listen to while getting ready.

Nice and great service but a bit steep in price.

Room Tip: Request a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SizzleMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,383
    401
    115
    70
    43
See reviews for
191
1,352
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great destination. Stayed four nights at the charming Vendue Inn and will stay there again when we return. Many extras like wine reception each afternoon, cookies and milk at night and delicious breakfast served each morning by exceptionally friendly staff. This harbor location is perfect as well. Easily walked to shopping, historic sites and GREAT restaurants. Vendue Inn boasts their own excellent eating spot, The Library. A great city and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkmpizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, Ca.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked this hotel on the Web, mainly because of location ( although the price was right ) It was steps to Waterfront Park, two blocks to Market square, and just steps to the Free Trolley Stop. We were in the newest section, first floor, fireplace king, just across the street from the main lobby. Best feature was a full served breakfast, included in price. Superb service and food in The Library restaurant, and cool hang-out in the roof-top bar....seemed more like a Bed & Breakfast than a hotel...but we loved it !

Room Tip: The new section ( annex ) was very quiet......first floor...no elevators to wait for...super king be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trvlr50
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My mother and I just completed our stay at the Vendue Inn. I must say the quality of the service provided by the staff was outstanding. This being our first visit to Charleston, we will return. Where do I begin? Let's start with the staff coming to our car immediately upon arrival greeting us by name and escorting us inside. I escorted my almost 92 year old mother on this trip to celebrate her birthday early. The staff was kind enough to upgrade both of us to mark the occasion. My short mother would have a problem with a southern bed that sits higher than she can climb. Immediately, the staff came together to remove the king bed box springs to lower the bed. One night using a van taxi for a trip to dinner, the staff lifted and brought her a full-sized ramp so she could easily walk into the van. Every time we would leave or return to the hotel, a staff member was always there for her to lend their arm and safely get her situated.

Our rooms were spacious and well appointed. The beds were so fluffy and comfy, I felt like the princess and the pea! Breakfast daily has great choices and is well served. The Library restaurant is delicious. The house made gelatos are outstanding. Let's not forget about the nightly cookies and milk!

I really have to say this hotel is the most accommodating property I have ever stayed with. As first time visitors, we of course had lots of questions. Our concerns and questions were addressed quickly and professionally. All told, my mother had the time of her life and for this, I will be forever grateful to the Vendue Inn.

Room Tip: A corner room has lots of space and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

The Vendue Inn, located in the French Quarter by Waterfront Park, is in a great location to explore Old Charleston by foot. It is 15 min. From the airport, so unless you are going far afield, you may not need a car. The staff at the Inn was very welcoming and helpful. Our king bed suite w/ fireplace was very quaint, lovely and spacious. However, as a caveat, we had a claw tub w/ surrounding shower curtain. My husband at 6' found getting in and out of the tub challenging with his bad back and he felt confined and restricted by the shower curtain surround. While the claw tub is quaint, it might be more practical to have a separate or full shower that allows easier access and greater movement for those who are physically restricted, older, taller or larger. The breakfast, which was included, was wonderful, providing a full menu of choices, including fresh squeezed orange juice. I would definitely recommend this Inn. The challenge with the claw tub is the only reason we did not give it 5 stars.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cajFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,796 - ₹ 33,521
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing