We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in the perfect location”
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at the Lodge Alley Inn with my husband and parents in two separate units. Parents stayed in a one bedroom unit (overlooking an alley) and we stayed in a studio unit overlooking E. Bay. My parents were happy with their unit although they thought ours was nicer due to the interior (exposed brick walls) and the view. Their unit felt a bit more cramped as they squeezed in a kitchenette that took up space and our only had a little tiny kitchen area (coffee machine, microwave, and mini-fridge). Our studio unit was nicely furnished and well decorated. We loved the exposed brick and the Carolina Rice bed. The fireplace was a nice touch too (wish it had been double sided though)! The furniture in the sitting area was also well maintained, clean, and comfortable. The floor was kind of slanted and crazy throughout our unit but we kind of liked it. In Charleston most of the buildings are just rehabbed older historic buildings so you tend to get that kind of stuff no matter where you stay..adds to the character! There were two flatscreen TVs in the unit (one in living area another over the bed) although this doesn't really matter to me unless you have kids...why watch TV when you're in Charleston!?!? Also...we really really enjoyed the people watching from the windows overlooking E. Bay (except for the middle aged man in the condo across the street whom apparently liked to walk around naked) - we could even see a bit of the water from our room and surprisingly the sound from the street wasn't too bad. The windows were doubled so it took out a lot of the noise. The toiletries were bath and body works (in case you're wondering!) and the bathroom was average with your typical shower/tub combo. Everyone that worked at the Inn was super super friendly and helpful! The courtyard area with the fountain was nice as well. You really can't beat this location either. You are surrounded by fantastic restaurants and bars on all sides and pretty much everything is within walking distance. The only one complaint I have is that our bed was not comfortable. It was beautiful to look at though :) And beds are one of those subjective things so I can't count it against them.

Room Tip: We loved people watching out our windows on East Bay (unit 310).
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Lodge Alley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 292 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Lodge Alley Inn is my favorite place to stay in Charleston! The location could not be better and the accomodations are exactly right for feeling the true magic and charm of historical Charleston. We were greeted by Clarence at the door, followed by a warm and friendly interaction with everyone that we encountered. We had a studio which was perfect for us, our teenage daughter and her friend. We did our traditional carriage ride which is always at the top of our list for must do's! We tried out the Cotton Club which is attached to the Lodge Alley and met Cory the bartender. Turns out he is from our hometown and we had a wonderful evening sharing stories. We highly recommend The Lodge Alley Inn as one of our top places to stay! You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Lodge Alley Inn is located in the historic district of Charleston. Park your car and put on your walking shoes because no matter which way you walk you are surrounded by history. Just 1 1/2 blocks from the Inn is the famous Market, 3 blocks Waterfront Park, and just a lovely walk to so many historical places that surround or are near the Lodge Alley Inn. If you don't feel like walking there are carriage rides nearby that will take you on a tour of the historic areas. Besides history Charleston is also known for culinary excellence. High Cotton Restaurant is attached to the Lodge Alley Inn. A few steps away you will find Magnolias, Blossom, and many, many, wonderful places to dine. Let you pallet lead the way and enjoy the fine cuisine that Charleston has to offer. As for Lodge Alley Inn it is beautiful! We were in a two bedroom condo that was spacious and very clean. Outside was a lovely plaza area where you can sit around umbrella tables and enjoy the lovely weather, a glass of wine, visit with friends or just listen to the soft sounds of the water flowing from the fountain in the center of the the plaza. The staff at the Lodge Alley Inn greeted us with a smile and were helpful and courteous in answering questions. You cannot park your car on site but there is valet parking. There is also a daily fee for parking your car but that is common in large cities. We had no problems with the valet service and they were prompt in retrieving our car. We are Blue Green owners and this resort lives up to the high quality we have come to expect from Blue Green. This is our third trip to Charleston but our first time at this resort and by far this was the nicest and most convenient for experiencing the sights and tastes of Charleston.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izzy2Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Have stayed at this location twice. The rooms are roomy and spacious. Both times I've stayed, it has been a queen or king room with a pullout couch. There is enough room if by chance we needed to bring an air mattress. The rooms are extremely clean. The beds are comfortable.
You can not beat this location. Walk out the door, and there are plenty of restaurants and bars.

The staff is friendly and has been great handling the valet service.

Only negative is that there is sometimes noise from the outside establishments. I just have a sound machine app on my phone and it drowns out the noise-no biggie!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncdeb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Once again our choice of lodging while visiting downtown Charleston was lodge Alley Inn! Had a warm "welcome back, good to see you again!" from Clarence, the always smiling door keeper, and our favorite valet at Lodge Alley! He has been there as long as we have been coming, and we always look forward to seeing him! Our rooms were lovely! My husband and I stayed in one of our favorite suites in the courtyard. The kiddos stayed in a nice one bedroom in the building next door. We only had two nights on this trip, but it was all lovely! The weather was perfect, and everyone was so friendly and made our stay very welcome! Thanks again! We stayed at two other really nice places on this trip and the bed at Lodge Alley was the most comfortable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#31 of 61 in Charleston
595 reviews
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
650 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
966 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 14,390 - ₹ 22,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing