We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed for a week in a two bedroom unit overlooking the courtyard from 2 December 2011 to 9 December 2011. The location of this resort is in the historic downtown district & very close to everything. The only time we used our car was to go to the Boone Hall plantation & to visit the USS Yorktown in Mt. Pleasant.
Everything is very nice at this resort. I just wish the unit could be made a bit more luxurious as the location is so convienient.
Charleston, SC is very interesting & we had a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in a unit overlooking the courtyard & it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newvisitorUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    130
    47
    27
    25
See reviews for
91
185
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Lodge Alley Inn is a time-share facility, but is available for others. As a time-share, housekeeping is not regular (once during our 1 week stay). It is valet parking, but very inexpensive ($6/day) and unlimited in/out with 15 minute notice.

The room we had was large with high ceilings, king sized bed (comfortable), couch, easy chair and gas fireplace. There were two TVs and good, free, WiFi. The onsite restaurant, High Cotton, is high end (expensive). We had room service one night and it was excellent.

The location couldn't be better. It is in the heart of downtown Charleston within easy walking distance of most attractions, lots of restaurants, an shopping. The front desk and Concierge were very friendly and helpful. The Concierge will "strongly encourage" attendance at an informational (sales) meeting for time-share. Just say no.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I used my mother in law's timeshare with Bluegreen. It was our first stay in Charleston and we were not disappointed. This hotel is right in the middle of everything. We stayed in a studio and it was perfect for the two of us. Living area was separated by a partial wall so it felt separate. Beds were comfy and decor was very charming. The only down fall was the "street view" was right across the street from a bar and I was having a hard time sleeping with the music and loud partying going on outside my window. Then at 5 am the street sweepers came through and woke me again. Next time we stay I will request a courtyard room. Also, for a great brunch try High Cotton which is connected to the Lodge Alley Inn. Worth the $.

We WILL stay here again as I have fallen in love with Charleston and the Lodge Valley Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJWilloughby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheraw, South Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We have stayed here a number of times. It is always a pleasure. Only one time we got a room that we did not care for. We stayed in it one night and they let us move. the staff is always friendly and the location is great!

Room Tip: I would say most of the rooms are great. Keep in mind, this is the historic district and so the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Lodge Alley on two occasions, one being our 25th Anniversary. We love the location. Everything is within walking distance. Great restaurants and the market are all close. Lodge Alley is a great stay in the historic district of Charleston SC.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bakersdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
The Elliott House Inn
#33 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#35 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Property: Lodge Alley Inn
Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,282 - ₹ 72,557
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing