We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #35 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location and charm”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Perfect location to shops and restaurants. Enjoyed a quick 10 minute walk to The Battery and other sites. Comfortable bed. Clean room. Loved the courtyards. Felt like I was in a European hotel with all of its charm. Good parking behind hotel - but remember that a daily fee will be charged to your room. Got a better room rate at their website than other travel sites. Wonderful breakfast with personable servers. Will definitely stay at Kings Courtyard on our next trip to Charleston.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view or a views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    190
    45
    27
    9
See reviews for
102
300
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed in a courtyard view room with king bed. No kids on this trip. Smaller room, but 10 foot ceilings, nice furnishings, hardwood floors, comfortable bed, nice linens, good pillows and plenty of hot water. The best part was the complimentary breakfast delivered to your room in the morning after filling out an order form the night before and hanging it on your door -- easy enough and nice touch to have breakfast in bed!

A quick look at google maps shows the location couldn't be better with the market, shops, restaurants, and all of Charleston charm right outside the door. Close to waterfront and carriage rides. Easy walk to Battery area. Parking area directly behind building couldn't be closer, but costs $12 per day so factor it in the hotel rate. I got a better rate booking online then the rate quote from calling the hotel directly. I love Charleston and highly recommend this hotel to couples looking for a nice place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelingwith4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I frequently travel to Charleston and have stayed at this hotel . The thought of staying anywhere else never crosses my mind. They have friendly staff, there's a wine and cheese tasting every weekday from 5 - 7, and their restaurant is great.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renado R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest City, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

After many years of visiting Charleston, we have stayed at many places. My husband and I make this trip annually for my birthday and have finally found the place to come back to every year. It has a special charm that captures the feel of old Charleston! The rooms were beautifully decorated with a historical feel but with all the modern amenities necessary to meet our needs. The fireplace was a real bonus! The complimentary breakfast was incredible with a lot of variety. You could choose a healthy breakfast for a healthy lifestyle or the delectable southern style for the soul and could be enjoyed in the comfort of your room or in the courtyard. There was also a wine and cheese reception most evenings also in the courtyard. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and was able to recommend some wonderful places for lunch or dinner based on our preferences. They were helpful and accommodating in meeting all our needs. The location couldn't be more perfect so we parked our car and walked everywhere. From start to finish, from check in to checkout, never once did we question our choice and will never have to again! Oh, and the rates were very reasonable!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was a great hotel, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and the location was perfect! The room was also lovely, we really enjoyed the fireplace. The breakfast was delicious and we had a great time at the evening reception!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
633 reviews
The Elliott House Inn
#29 of 62 in Charleston
826 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
937 reviews
Indigo Inn
#19 of 62 in Charleston
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,683 - ₹ 21,309
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing