We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Elegant and comfortable historic southern charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Rutledge House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
John Rutledge House Inn
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegant and comfortable historic southern charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Wr stayed at the John Rutledge House for two nights with our small dog. We had a beautiful room in the Ashley Carriage House, and the bed was so comfortable! My dog enjoyed the treats that greeted her in our room upon arrival with a note attached. Breakfast in the ballroom was delicious and a lovely spot to relax. The location is perfect. I would definitely stay here the next time I am in Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTrahan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    63
    29
    15
    7
See reviews for
102
340
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Too high a price for medicre breakfasts. Wonderful room with comfortable bed.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MWPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed with my cousin in the Edward Rutledge room and it was spacious and beautiful! The beds were comfy and there was even a working fireplace in the room! Perhaps the two best things about our stay at The Rutledge Inn was 1. the proximity to the shopping and street life on King street and 2. The amazing breakfast spread! We are both Pescetarian and they had a great selection for us to choose from. Definitely do NOT pass up their grits or the biscuit with sherried fruit. We opted for breakfast in the peaceful and serene courtyard; it was the way to go. We also enjoyed the complimentary spirits in the upstairs lounge area after a late dinner in the city. Definitely spend some time on their upstairs balcony taking in the calm street, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Downtown. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife an I had a relaxing time at the John Rutledge house. We enjoyed the afternoon tea and being able to sit an relax on the front porch. We also enjoyed the courtyard. The breakfast was a great way to start the day. A good selection of standard fare and plenty of fresh fruit. I enjoyed having breakfast served in my room. I did not have to get up and get dressed to go out for breakfast. I look forward to spending more time at this wonderful Inn,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renferd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

the rutledge house was everything we hoped it would be...the history of the house, the charm, and everyone was extra nice...the breakfast was great.best grits we have had in a long time...super clean room and we could walk to all the historic streets......we will be back..

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the two carraige houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Property: John Rutledge House Inn
Address: 116 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2437
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,058 - ₹ 27,022
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Booking.com so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing