We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John Rutledge House Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 358
US$ 341
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 284
US$ 262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wentworth Mansion(Charleston)
US$ 463
US$ 441
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$ 373
US$ 355
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 132
US$ 116
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 189
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 515
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
620
76
32
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
76
32
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housecarriage house roomsbroad streetgrand suitetempurpedic mattressdeclaration of independenceshrimp and gritseach morningbottled waterwithin walking distancelovely courtyardmodern conveniencesother guestsconcierge staffbed and breakfasthistoric propertyno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Beautiful house. Attentive, helpful staff. Each room and each hallway has amazing 100+ year old parquet floors, each with a unique design. Supposedly, the carpenter (a true craftsman) took 8 years to create the floors.

Room Tip: Number 6 was a perfect size.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast. We couldn't have stayed in a nicer home. Everyone was very friendly and and wanted our stay to be comfortable. It was like staying with family. We also enjoyed the history attached to this home.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Amazing! The concierge who checked us in was excellent and also assisted us eagerly throughout our entire stay. She recommended restaraunts, gave us menus, offered to make reservations, gave tips on attractions, and more, all with a smile and a great attitude. The breakfast was amazing, and it was a luxury to not need to get dressed beforehand; we just had it delivered to our room (also available to be delivered to the ballroom or courtyard.) It was beautiful and had a beautiful location. I was giddy with excitement checking in after seeing the place, and would stay here again if given the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house, which we loved because it was less busy with people coming in to check in than the main house
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addiemac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our second stay at this elegant and historic B & B. Truly memorable inn; the suite was beautifully furnished, the staff very helpful and accommodating. Delicious breakfasts, especially the shrimp and grits. Excellent location. Would also recommend eating at their associated restaurant, Circa, with their 3 course price fixed $42 menu for guests of the inn. Great food, wonderful service, lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay this this historic B&B. We had a deluxe room on the third floor with a gas fireplace that was lovely, spacious and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the afternoon teas in the ballroom where we shared experiences with fellow travelers and the gracious staff as well as breakfasts in the courtyard. The entire staff could not have been more helpful, from promptly attending to a minor plumbing issue to offering excellent restaurant and sightseeing recommendations.

This is a charming place to stay in a superb location and we will definitely return on our next Charleston visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rube1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews