We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
from US$ 24.00
More Info
from US$ 28.00
More Info
from US$ 69.00
More Info
from US$ 20.00
More Info
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
579
451
124
30
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
451
124
30
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolutionary war guided tour sea wall original wall self guided period clothing charleston history interesting artifacts lots of history beautiful building slave mart great museum on display great tour combo ticket history buff love history
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We loved the Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon! It is a very interesting building with a lot of history. Walking around the building was nice and the tour of the dungeon was very informative! We thoroughly enjoyed it. However, we took small children and the tour is a little long for children. It’s only about 45 minutes or so but it’s rather boring to kids. Overall, I’d definitely recommend this stop!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The guided tour was okay but as far as storytelling goes it dragged a little bit. They used every bit of space in the building to display photographs and information boards - if you stopped and examined each one it will take you awhile to get through the entire building. Little ones and teenagers will be bored fairly quickly once they leave the dungeon area.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 459bille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We had never visited this while in town, so we decided to walk over. They offer discounts for military, AAA or AARP. There is a self guided tour and a guided portion. The tour guide was personable and very knowledgeable. We learned all the purposes of the building, its architecture, and changes in the city since its founding. I would recommend it. Wear sensible shoes for walking in the dungeon as the original bricks can be tricky.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank leighb839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Our local friends recommended this as a quick tour spot and an easy one to visit with a child. They could not be more accurate. It was perfect for an interesting afternoon spot to visit. Tour guides were full of info and it was fun and kind of creepy because of the dungeons!

Highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Novemberpeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were fortunate in catching one of the last 30-min guided tours of the day (closes at 5pm). Well worth your time and fascinating insight into the very significant historical events which took place on this very site. Small gift shop worth a look too before you leave.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews