We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbourview Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lodge Alley Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Market Street Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ansonborough Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,248)
Filter reviews
2,248 results
Traveller rating
1,848
288
69
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,848
288
69
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkwine and cheesewaterfront parkrooftop terracehistoric wingharbour viewharbourview roomm mswithin walking distancetempurpedic mattressbreakfast delivered to our roomperfect locationeach morninglittle extrascontinental breakfastvalet parkingevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
1,423 - 1,428 of 2,248 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel comes up in many pictures about Charleston, and given that some of the city's best restaurant lie within 2 blocks, location was the main factor that brought me here, along with the raving reviews on TA.

I was not disappointed. I had a big, beautiful Harbourview room overlooking the pier, from where I'd take respite from the heat overlooking the kids play all daylong in the fountain. The room was super clean, the Tempurpedic beds out of this world, and despite being in front of a lobby it was also super quiet. In terms of the facilities, only minor hitch was that water pressure on the shower was not the best, but was adequate. As for service, every employee I encountered was extremely friendly and helpful.

The only let down here was on the catering side. Breakfast was good, not great (the fruit juices were really bad), but plentiful, since you can order it delivered and also enjoy all morning supply in the lobby. Charleston has too many fantastic restaurants, so I didn't want to waste precious appetite on the tea and wine receptions here.

However, one thing I can't understand, and seems to be a practice with this city (at least with this hotel chain), is why on a 4-star hotel you don't have ANY, complimentary or for sale, bottle of water in the room. Why have an empty minibar on? and why have iced containers with juice all morning and not water? yes, there is a free ice machine in the hallway, but if you arrive late and are set for bed, you end up drinking hot water from the tap before you find it out.

I certainly recommend this place and would come back in a heartbeat. But next time I'd pass before by the drugstore and buy some bottled water before I check in.

Room Tip: If you can afford, get a harbor view room on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lune14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView inn! It is wonderful that you enjoyed your HarbourView room overlooking Waterfront Park. It is always great to have room you find restful, especially after a day of exploring Charleston by foot. We do set up a beverage station in the lobby each morning with lemon and orange water as well as unsweet tea. There is also complimentary bottled water available at the Front Desk. Thank you for the suggestion of placing water bottles in the room, it is certainly an idea we will look in to. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent 3 nights in the hotel, when we arrived we had been upgraded to a harbor view room ,the room was very nice. The hotel is very close to many great restaurants, the market ( just a few short blocks) and carriage rides. The complimenatary breakfast each morning in our room was delightful ( many items to choose from) wine and cheese in the evening and cookie and milk before bedtime were a welcoming touch. The bed was so comfortable and a staff member even brought a fan to our room since I can't seem to sleep without the humming sound a fan makes. I did notice that due to the design of the hotel ( Atrium in the middle) at times it was somewhat loud when guests closed there doors. We enjoyed our time in Charleston and the hotel is definatly one we will return to .

Room Tip: If you need a very quiet room you may want to ask for a room at the end of the Hall on an upper floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missaugiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your HarbourView room! We are thrilled that you enjoyed each of our homey touches, from breakfast in bed to milk and cookies to tuck you in each night! It was our pleasure to provide with some ambient noise to help you fall asleep. We certainly hope you are able to return to Charleston and the HarbourView inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you're staying in the Hstoric area this is the place. Our King Room overlooked the harbor and the fountain. Only inconvenience is tat the lobby is on the second floor and no one was downstairs to assist with luggage until we went upstairs to check-in.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan9969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us at the HarbourView inn! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and view of Waterfront Park and the Charleston harbor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. It was wonderful-walking distance to restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, and mansions. Loved it-breakfast was delicious, kids loved the candy, cookies and milk. beds are so comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Can't wait to return someday!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grznuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

We certainly hope that you are able to return to Charleston and the HarbourView inn someday! There is plenty left to explore within walking distance. We are glad that enjoyed our special touches!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This place is on the perfect location and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel special. Rooms are nice and the upper deck view is just fantastic.

The $20 valet parking may seem high but you have to pay to play in Charleston.

Five minute walk to Meeting Street, 2 minute walk to the best restaurants.

I wish I could live in this Hotel.

Enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davisknd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Harbourview inn. We are so glad that enjoyed the ease of parking your car and walking to all of Charleston's great attractions and restaurants. We would love to have you stay with us any time!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews