We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel has a great location for experiencing Charleston. Within walking distance to the great restaurants and other attractions. Services and accommodations were great at this hotel. In particular the complimentary breakfast was extremely good touch.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VT_Hokies_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are so glad that you had a great time in Charleston and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,619
    276
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
355
1,154
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel comes up in many pictures about Charleston, and given that some of the city's best restaurant lie within 2 blocks, location was the main factor that brought me here, along with the raving reviews on TA.

I was not disappointed. I had a big, beautiful Harbourview room overlooking the pier, from where I'd take respite from the heat overlooking the kids play all daylong in the fountain. The room was super clean, the Tempurpedic beds out of this world, and despite being in front of a lobby it was also super quiet. In terms of the facilities, only minor hitch was that water pressure on the shower was not the best, but was adequate. As for service, every employee I encountered was extremely friendly and helpful.

The only let down here was on the catering side. Breakfast was good, not great (the fruit juices were really bad), but plentiful, since you can order it delivered and also enjoy all morning supply in the lobby. Charleston has too many fantastic restaurants, so I didn't want to waste precious appetite on the tea and wine receptions here.

However, one thing I can't understand, and seems to be a practice with this city (at least with this hotel chain), is why on a 4-star hotel you don't have ANY, complimentary or for sale, bottle of water in the room. Why have an empty minibar on? and why have iced containers with juice all morning and not water? yes, there is a free ice machine in the hallway, but if you arrive late and are set for bed, you end up drinking hot water from the tap before you find it out.

I certainly recommend this place and would come back in a heartbeat. But next time I'd pass before by the drugstore and buy some bottled water before I check in.

Room Tip: If you can afford, get a harbor view room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lune14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView inn! It is wonderful that you enjoyed your HarbourView room overlooking Waterfront Park. It is always great to have room you find restful, especially after a day of exploring Charleston by foot. We do set up a beverage station in the lobby each morning with lemon and orange water as well as unsweet tea. There is also complimentary bottled water available at the Front Desk. Thank you for the suggestion of placing water bottles in the room, it is certainly an idea we will look in to. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent 3 nights in the hotel, when we arrived we had been upgraded to a harbor view room ,the room was very nice. The hotel is very close to many great restaurants, the market ( just a few short blocks) and carriage rides. The complimenatary breakfast each morning in our room was delightful ( many items to choose from) wine and cheese in the evening and cookie and milk before bedtime were a welcoming touch. The bed was so comfortable and a staff member even brought a fan to our room since I can't seem to sleep without the humming sound a fan makes. I did notice that due to the design of the hotel ( Atrium in the middle) at times it was somewhat loud when guests closed there doors. We enjoyed our time in Charleston and the hotel is definatly one we will return to .

Room Tip: If you need a very quiet room you may want to ask for a room at the end of the Hall on an upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missaugiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your HarbourView room! We are thrilled that you enjoyed each of our homey touches, from breakfast in bed to milk and cookies to tuck you in each night! It was our pleasure to provide with some ambient noise to help you fall asleep. We certainly hope you are able to return to Charleston and the HarbourView inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

If you're staying in the Hstoric area this is the place. Our King Room overlooked the harbor and the fountain. Only inconvenience is tat the lobby is on the second floor and no one was downstairs to assist with luggage until we went upstairs to check-in.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan9969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us at the HarbourView inn! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and view of Waterfront Park and the Charleston harbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. It was wonderful-walking distance to restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, and mansions. Loved it-breakfast was delicious, kids loved the candy, cookies and milk. beds are so comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Can't wait to return someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grznuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We certainly hope that you are able to return to Charleston and the HarbourView inn someday! There is plenty left to explore within walking distance. We are glad that enjoyed our special touches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,796 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,095 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,781 - ₹ 35,232
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing