We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. It was wonderful-walking distance to restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, and mansions. Loved it-breakfast was delicious, kids loved the candy, cookies and milk. beds are so comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Can't wait to return someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grznuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We certainly hope that you are able to return to Charleston and the HarbourView inn someday! There is plenty left to explore within walking distance. We are glad that enjoyed our special touches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,596
    274
    62
    23
    12
See reviews for
350
1,136
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This place is on the perfect location and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel special. Rooms are nice and the upper deck view is just fantastic.

The $20 valet parking may seem high but you have to pay to play in Charleston.

Five minute walk to Meeting Street, 2 minute walk to the best restaurants.

I wish I could live in this Hotel.

Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davisknd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Harbourview inn. We are so glad that enjoyed the ease of parking your car and walking to all of Charleston's great attractions and restaurants. We would love to have you stay with us any time!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting Charleston for my first time. It was also the first time I stayed at a small, boutique type of hotel. From the moment we arrived, we received 5 star service. The room itself was very clean and spacious. The TV was a very nice size flat screen, great lighting, quality hair dryer (I always have to bring my own and was able to use the one in the room. It even had the attachment I needed), Ipod docking station. The only negative comment I have about the rooms is that bed has high posts and they can get in the way while watching TV. The hotel amenities are none that I have experienced before. There was complimentary juice, coffee, candy and water available 24/7. There was complimentary wine between 5-6 pm. There was four different wines to choose from. My favorite and most memorable amenity was breakfast. Not only was it complimentary each day, but you could choose to have it brought to your room, to the atrium or the rooftop terrace. We had it delivered to the rooftop both mornings. It was fabulous. the atmosphere could not be better and the amount of food you were given was great! Also, there was a breakfast layout in the atrium with danish, fruit, and coffee/juice. The second night, we forgot to place our card on the outside of our door with our breakfast order. After we came back to the hotel at 1 am, a person at the front desk was more than helpful and we were able to put our order in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Charleston area. It is in a great location and within walking distance to many local attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmf719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn for your first Charleston experience! We are thrilled that you enjoyed all of our little extra touches. I’m glad you were able to enjoy your breakfast each morning on our rooftop terrace and we hope you are able to join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We spent the weekend in Charleston and must say, was happy to return after many years. The Inn was recommended by a friend and we were lucky as we were a bit last minute. The location is good, walking distance to downtown everything. Our greeting at the front desk was lukewarm. They initially put us in a handicapped room which was just odd. They first said that there was nothing else available which proved to be untrue: things happen. Patience is a virtue.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
We are so glad that we were able to host your return trip to Charleston! We greatly appreciate you staying with us at the HarbourView Inn and we hope you keep us in mind for any future trips to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was a wonderful hotel. We recently visited Charleston after a family trip to Hilton Head. We stayed at the Harbourview Inn because of the ratings on trip advisor. And we loved our stay. They aim to spoil! They have complimentary cheese and wine in the afternoon and complimentary milk and cookies in the evening. Complimentary breakfast can be served in the room, on the rooftop terrace, or in the lobby. They have pastries delivered from Saffron bakery and I am not a big bread/pastry eater but oh my these were delish! We got the sweet filled and they were so good...I would highly recommend! The staff is very helpful. We were trying to find a house from the movie Notebook, and the lady at the front desk went out of her way to try to help us. She also told us about the duck pond in the movie where you can take boat rides. The rooms were very clean and luxurious. The mattress was also a tempurpedic!
As far a parking goes: the only option is valet which has a $20 fee. Or you can opt out and use public parking in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
We are thrilled that you loved your stay with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, especially our fresh, locally made pastries! It is wonderful to hear that we were able to assist you with planning your days in Charleston. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you are able to join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,483 - ₹ 41,479
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing