We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
High Falls NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn at the suggestion of our daughter. She was correct in saying that the historic inn has everything needed for a delightful stay in Charleston. We were steps away from the market, Cru Cafe, and the restaurants on Meeting and Queen Streets, and we had a quiet, lovely room. The staff greeted us with warmth and suggested excellent restaurants and tours. Breakfast on the rooftop level was delicious! We will return to this quiet, wonderful inn again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original Pinckney building....ultra quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thnkb4uspk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    374
    135
    54
    36
See reviews for
263
816
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had a wonderful experience at API for a recent long weekend. The location is fantastic - one block from the city market, and centrally located so it's an easy walk to either the Vendue area, the southern battery, or even to the Aquarium (a little less than a mile). All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel comprises of two buildings, the larger one is across the street and is where breakfast is served. FYI, breakfast really is served "on the rooftop patio", so you'll want to take your meal inside to the 2nd floor atrium if it's too cold out. Most guests seem to enjoy being out, even when it's brisk (we did), so just bring your sweater if it's a chilly morning. The good thing is you get to eat out in the sun!

Other folks have mentioned that there isn't much on-site parking, and it's $15 a day. So, either budget accordingly, or perhaps you can work out a deal with the hotel before-hand. This is downtown Charleston, though, so you're not going to get "free" parking at too many places unless you're paying more for your room. Please note your $15 daily fee covers as many in/outs per day as you like of either the nearby garage or the on-site parking lot. So, if you decide to drive out to a plantation or something, you don't have to worry about "paying twice".

Room Tip: FYI, some of the value-rate rooms are lacking in terms of external windows for the 2nd building, dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brown_tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for sharing comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon during warmer weather to really enjoy the wonderful Rooftop Terrace for breakfast or just a quiet evening after a busy day.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is managed by a caring company called Charlestowne Management. I believe all of their properties are managed with care. I loved the quiet location. I could hear the hoofs of the horse pulling the carriage. It is easy in and out and between East Bay and Meeting St. Very convienent to everything without being in the middle of the city. You will not find a better morning breakfast included in the rate. There were fresh croissants biscuits and muffins, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, HB eggs and all the juices and coffee and tea. It was comfortable sitting on the 4th floor out on a veranda overlooking the Market and you could see the water just on the horizon. The rooms where the office is located and does not have an elevator, so be mindful if you are old and have lots of luggage. Across the street is a larger building with more rooms and elevators. I will try the new building next time. I was able to open my window and feel a wonderful breeze on a beautiful Charleston morning. Parking was free and that is a real treat for being in the city. Check to make sure you get it included... Internet was adequate but can't stream too much video. The amenities such as soap and shampoo was superb... The complete staff was extremely friendly and made you feel special.
I could go on but if I liked this place being a hotel person working with them everyday you will like it. For once I was not so displeased without coffee in my room. The breakfast area was fantastic.... and I enjoyed being out on the deck.

Room Tip: Rooms in one building have no elevator as mentioned..... Steps are not too bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grouperboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our management and entire staff of the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Our goal is to offer the finest guest service and Charleston expereience in the area. We hope that you will be back to experience our continued enhancements of the property.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hotel lived up to all my expectations: not extra-fancy, but there was nothing lacking. The location is excellent, walking distance to anything you could want, but on a quiet side street. The staff was friendly and happy to help. The rooms were attractive - not luxurious, but with more than enough space. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckeny Inn. It is always a delight to hear how much our guest's enjoyed their stay. We hope that you will be visiting with us again in the near future.

Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammonton, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The value exceed any negativity. This is a B&B located in the heart of downtown and one block from the Marketplace. Fine restaurants and tap rooms are everywhere. Hotel comprises of two buildings. Our building was across the street and probbally used for over flow and discounted rate. Our room was on the 3rd floor and a bit small, but etiquette. Clean, comfortable with Old World Charm. Elevators are present. Breakfast is serve on the forth floor with patio seating and a decent view of the harbor and marketplace. This was very convenient for us, but could imagine not so for the folks in the main building. There is also a sitting area on the second floor. Breakfast choices included, fresh fruit, yogurt, assorted bake goods, two hot dishes which change everday, biscuit and gravy, assorted juices, coffee and tea. Vanilla creamers were available.

Staff were friendly and checkin was a breeze. We booked on Book It and received free parking otherwise you are expected to pay 15 bucks. Parking lot can only accommodate about 15 vehicle, but there is street and lot parking available close by.

Our overall hotel experience was good including seeing what I believe was a ghost walking down the stairs in front of me, one evening. Boo.

Accommodations **** Clean rooms, Nice bedding, Desk, Large flat screen with Comcast
Location ***** Heart of downtown
Staff **** Friendly, Efficient
Ammendities **** Great breakfast, Free Parking, Clock radio with IPod charger

Happy Trails.

Room Tip: Main building offers a variety of Chocolate Cookies in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EatDrinkNBMerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share comments of your "hauntingly" wonderful time at the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent visit. Just a quick note that both the Church Street Building and Pinckney Street Building are equally as nice and appointed they are just two separate buildings across the street from one another at the corner of Pinckney and Church Streets. The Pinckney Street Building does actually accommodate most of our Suites inventory/

We hope that you will be visiting us again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew PInckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,514 - ₹ 30,575
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing