We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I loved my stay here. Ask a room with two bathrooms - we had 308, but there is apparently one on every floor from a remodel. The staff is so incredibly nice and helpful. The rooms are decorated nicely, comfy beds, and spotless! Right across the street from the Farmers Market. Loved Charleston and this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrhbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

We love that you loved your stay here! Yes - we do have a few rooms with two bathrooms. When the hotel was built in 1924 - those rooms were actually two separate rooms. We've knocked down a wall and made one larger room with two bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,385 - 2,389 of 3,055 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

I was at here as part of a business meeting. Each room is unique, which is part of what gives this hotel its charm. Thoroughly modern, but you can feel the history. Attentive and helpful staff, good food, and nice meeting rooms. Well-equipped fitness room, with a full Starbucks on street level. I'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask to get the type of bathroom you want. Some rooms have very small ones, while others have a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLPCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

That should become our new slogan - "thoroughly modern, but you can feel the history". You summed up our hotel nicely. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had an awesome view of the Harbour! The rooms are quaint and the beds very comfortable. Although the room was small it didn't lack for style and decor! This hotel allows you to stay in a little bit of history and it was close to the shops and market. Desk staff was friendly and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: if you don't mind the size of the room opt for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

We appreciate the time you have taken to share on Trip Advisor. We have the best views in Charleston. Shortly after our hotel was built in 1924 - the city passed a law that buildings in the historic district cannot be taller than the church steeples - hence we are the only high-rise hotel which allows for great views of the harbor. We definitely want you to stay here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Husband and myself were on an Archers Direct coach tour from the U.K. 23 May-2 June. We stopped at this hotel fro 2 nights and it was the highlight of our tour ( The Jewels of Georgia and South Carolina).
Th front desk could not have been more helpful re postage stamps and giving me their last singles for all the coins I had collected during the trip and would not be able to change back home in London,.
We also had a dinner there- it was the best one of the trip. Staff adjusted portions for our European appetites and went the extra mile to ensure we had a good time. Do go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkatEaling_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

I have shared your wonderful comments with our staff and Chef Steve. They love hearing positive feedback regarding their service and food. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This renovated historic property was located in the heart of downtown Charleston making quick sightseeing walks a possibility while attending a business conference. Dining options nearby were great. The staff was very courteous and helpful. It was very convenient to be able to log in to wireless in my room and to use the business center computers and printer in the lobby. Only drawback was the slow elevator, but I can understand it giving the limitations of a historic property. I would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

We are grateful that you shared with Trip Advisor and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 62 in Charleston
1,675 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 10,000 - ₹ 25,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing