We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a week of pure relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've been to a few places over the years, some pretty well known resorts, but the Inn was a step above them all. From Pat guiding us through the events we had planned, to Hughes (I believe that was on his name tag ) at Canoe to every and I mean every staff member knowing about other areas of the Inn and being pleasant about it- it was a joy to celebrate our anniversary.

The drive in down the lane started the promise of a special week for us. A great view from our cottage every morning watching the sun rise. The staff at Buffalos (always alert and ready to help at 7:00am), the River and Canoe where the meals were outstanding. Chris King my caddie that helped and tolerated my golf game - twice.

If you have the chance to visit the Inn - I can't image a better way to relax.

Room Tip: Water view cottage. Well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 539 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

There isn't enough space here to list all of the positives of Palmetto Bluffs. The setting; the service; the amenitities; the golf; the spa; the gym; the pools, everything was simply perfect.

The only drawback at all was Rick, the concierge. Everytime we asked him for something, it was like he was doing us a HUGE favor. And our requests weren't abnormal: it was things like, can you confirm that we have a car coming to take us back to the airport (we asked this as we were checking out); or, can you arrange for a mercedes for us. Seriously, would it kill him to smile like the other 50 employees we encountered?

Enough about Rick. This place is amazing. We stayed in a village home this time, but last time we stayed in a cottage. Both were great, in different ways. This time we went with the kids and the home was great. Last time, it was just me and my wife, and the cottage was ideal. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cozmo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Cozmo K,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff. I personally appreciate the constructive feedback that you provided to us in your comments. It is important for us to know where we have opportunities so that we may provide appropriate training to our staff members. It is our standard that every staff member that you encounter provide you with welcoming assistance.
Thank you, once again. It is my hope that your travel plans will provide for a return trip to the Inn.
Sincerely,
Marty Wall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We spent two nights in a "house" for Memorial Day Weekend with our two daughters (10 and 8)
We really enjoyed this resort : nice, wide, beautiful, good restaurants
The only issue is the price of the house which is I think a little bit overvalued except if you have another friend family wanted to share a house with you

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff June 12-15 and while it wasn't a perfect experience, the level of customer service sets the bar for all other resorts in the US.

The real test of excellent customer service comes when you have a problem that needs to be resolved, and we had a couple of issues. For one, the TV in our cottage (#41) quit working at 10:30 one evening. I called the front desk expecting them to put me off until the next day, but to my surprise, they sent a service technician to our cottage within five minutes and he had the problem resolved in about two minutes!

Also, all cottages are supposed to have two bikes (new and very comfortable Sun beach cruisers) but we had only one upon arrival. I called the front desk immediately, again expecting to wait hours for a second bike, but in less than 30 minutes they delivered a bike right to our front door. Impressive.

Now for the good stuff about this resort, and there's plenty of good stuff!

First, the grounds are absolutely stunning! The drive from the main road to the resort is about five miles, and the road is lined with mature trees covered in Spanish Moss. As you drive up to the main building, it's like stepping back in time to a small town sqare in the old south, with quaint southern style homes, brick sidewalks and beautiful gas street lights.

The ruins of the old plantation are just outside the main building and add an air of history to the place. You can just imagine the large, four-story plantation standing grandly in its day looking out over the beautiful May River with Hilton Head Island in the distance.

The main building serves as the lobby for the resort and has a classic southern feel to it with a large covered porch complete with rocking chairs. There are three massive fire pits out front that roar to life every night, the smell of burning hickory wood filling the air as you cook your smores - the resort provides all the necessary ingredients...marshmallows, Hershey's chocolate and crispty graham crackers.

The adult pool (16 and over) and workout area are immediately behind the main building and they are excellent. The pool is a 25-yard, three-lane lap pool that provides a beautful view of the nearby lagoon and the May River in the distance. Service at the pool was top notch. Grab a couple of the comfortable, well padded lounges and soon enough Andrew or one of the other servers at the pool will deliver a galvanized bucket filled with ice and five or six bottles of water. Drinks and a limited lunch menu are available at pool side as well. The fruit smoothies were great and were the Pina Coladas. For lunch we had the large and delicious House Hot Dog with catsup, mustard and carmelized onions on a soft bun...really good stuff.

The fitness center is top drawer all the way with plenty of treadmills, weights, ellipticals and more. The locker rooms are very nice with plenty of lockers and a nice shower area.

As you walk across the small bridge toward your cottage, be sure to take in all the wildlife! The air is full of beautiful birds including egrets and look closely in the May River and you're sure to sea Atlantic Bottle Nose Dolphins coming up for air! Turn around to face the lagoon and you'll see more gorgeous birds and if you're lucky, you'll even see the small alligators that lurk nearby! And if you're really lucky, you may spot one of the wild looking Fox Squirrels that reside on the property. They are large, gray and black squirrels with large, long, bushy tails. They're hard to miss as they are two to three times the size of an average squirrel.

Also notice how quiet it is as you walk to your cottage, the silence broken only by the surrounding wildlife and the occasional hum of an engine as a boat meanders down the May River. And the cottage area is nearly covered by a canonpy of large, mature trees draped in Spanish Moss...simply beautiful!

The cottages themselves are gorgeous, with hardwood floors in the main room, gas fireplace, high vaulted ceilings, large and comfortable king sized bed, screened-in porch leading to a nice yard, marble floors in the bathroom, two huge closets, mini fridge, sink, safe, ironing board and iron, ample storage for clothes...the list of amenities goes on and on.

The bathroom is huge with double sinks, a large tub and an even larger shower. And what a shower it is! There are two shower heads, one in the traditional location and a second, much large shower head directly overhead. There is also a third, hand-held shower that mounts to the wall. We had all three heads cranking at once and it made for a wonderful experience. Even nicer, the shower also has a steam feature which was out of this world. Turn on all three shower heads, set the steam for about 90 degrees - that's about all we could take - and simply enjoy! The only problem with the shower is trying to get out! Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, and body lotion are all provided, as well as bar soap, Q-Tip swabs, cotton balls...everything you need. Room service was excellent as was housekeeping and turn down service.

Food and drinks at the resort were excellent for the most part. Be sure to have at least one Firefly Sweet Tea with Vodka with a splash of lemonade...very good! Kind of large and Arnold Palmer Iced Tea with a splash of John Daly thrown in! In face, Buffalo's Restaurant serves a drink called the John Daly which is basically the same drink.

The food at Buffalo's was very good but a little on the pricey side. The breakfast buffet is $25.00 per person. We had the buffet twice, the first day was just average but the second trip was very good, especially the omelet station. The bacon was incredible but the bisquit gravy was disappoining...bland, soupy and with very little taste. The pastries were excellent as were the rolls and breads. Service was again excellent...Karry Ann did a great job as did Zach. For lunch at Buffalo's I would recommend the Buffalo Chicken Wrap and the Jerk Chicken Club Sandwich...both were very good.

Our second day at the resort we took a tour with a group called Outside Hilton Head/Outside Palmetto Bluff. We opted for the "Outback Tour" which consisted of a boat tour of the May River and surrounding area, about an hour of kayaking and a very nice lunch on a secluded Island. Captain Mike was our guide and he did a fantastic job. Outside Palmetto Bluff is located right on the grounds near Wilson's Landing and they offer a variety of day trips. Our day on the Outback Tour was a day well spent!

Downers were few. The May River Golf Club was closed during the time we were there which was unfortunate as it looked to be a very nice course. And again, this is an upscale resort and the food and drink prices reflected as much. But that's about it for negatives. Overall we had a great time and we were blown away by the level of customer service.

If you're considering an upscale southern resort, I would highly recommend you put the Inn at Palmetto Bluff at the top of your list!

Room Tip: The odd numbered cottages are on the May River, but not all of them offer a good view of the River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HefeGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for our 5th year wedding anniversary and it was well worth the high cost. Having played some of the world's best golf course, my husband indicated that this was one of his top 10 golf experiences - which means a lot. The only negative is that I would not suggest the wine cruise. The concierge recommended it as a "must do" and it was extremely disappointing - wine selection poor (don't call it a wine cruise), wine was warm (it was clear that this was not because of the weather but how it was stored), the captain never gave a narrative of the surrounding area as we were told, the appetizers were just okay and got warm (could they not have put the plates on ice?). There were only 5 couples on board and two of them were members who apparantly have been on the cruise several times, knowing the captain, so apparantly it was not worth his time to acknowledge that we paid $80 per person (not couple!) for this experience and got nothing (bad wine, bad food, and bad entertainment). Also, most of the time the captain had these two couples driving the boat. We were watching and thought this was classless since these members acted like fools ("wait, watch for that - oops, move the boat over here") More importantly, we were only at the inn for two nights so this took away from a better experience that we could have had that evening. The hotel called to inquire and I returned the call and offered to make some suggestions to improve the cruise and so far its been a week and no one has called me back. I guess they do not want to make improvements.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
10.4 km away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
14.3 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
19.0 km away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
857 reviews
15.4 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
19.2 km away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Address: 477 Mount Pelia Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910-8343 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range: ₹ 23,901 - ₹ 99,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the resort has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. Spa Montage is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 6 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing