We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
866
137
48
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
866
137
48
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pies cookies pecan pie evening dessert southern hospitality crackers the main house private entrance screened in porch fries living room honor bar bed and breakfast spanish moss other guests french toast each morning
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 10 with the screened porch was the best! Plenty of lounging space and food couldn't be better!! Hats off to Chef Beverly!! Her breakfasts are huge!
The complimentary deserts were wonderful with the wine and cheese appetizers!
Looked forward to the afternoon tea as well!!. Inn did a super job getting us to tours and places of interest!! We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Room 10 for added private screened porch
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We learned of The Rhett House Inn through an article in AAA Magazine, that gave a very favorable review and a 4 Diamond rating. The online reviews were all pretty favorable, so we booked a room and made our way to Beaufort SC. As advertised, the inn is in a great location very convenient to the waterfront and shops/dining. The wait staff and kitchen help are also kind hearted and hard working ladies. The cooked to order breakfasts are well done, but not particularly generous, and coffee refills seem to take forever.

The main inn building was built in the early 1800’s and it shows. Layer upon layer of paint and generous caulking everywhere you look. The main building simply needs more upkeep and as one guest mentioned, the place looks “tired”. It has crossed that fine line between historic and just plain “old.” I can’t fathom how the inn rates 4 Diamonds.

We stayed in room 15 across the street from the main inn. The room was well appointed and clean with a four poster bed and nice furnishings. It also had a very nice screened porch. The bathroom, however, was circa 1980 with a rather narrow, cheap fiberglass insert with a pretty beat up looking tile floor. Not sure if a bigger guest would even be able to get into it much less turn around once inside. The soaking tub also looked like it had seen much better days and was not something you’d feel like getting into. Definitely not worth the $262 a night rate.

The other thing that is not really clear on the website is the location of the rooms. Several, both in the main inn and in the cottages, are lower level units that are really pretty dark (like emerging from a basement or crawl space) and several guests seemed to be surprised by the location of their rooms and frankly not happy about it. Make sure you ask where the room is and if it is a lower level unit.

So, even though Ben and Gwyneth and other celebs have stayed at the inn, for my travel dollar I would rather have picked another property that was less expensive with better amenities. Unless the owners choose to put some much needed upgrades into the property, historic charm and hospitality will only take you so far.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We picked The Rhett House Inn because of an old entry in the book “1000 Places to Visit Before you Die”. The place is fine and the staff was very nice and friendly. Breakfast, desserts and other extras were very good. The room was comfortable, however the WiFi was weak. The problem is that they charge the dreaded “Resort Fee”. This is an extra 20% that will be required at check-in. It is referred to by various descriptions as a local tax, a cleaning fee or gratuities, it is even called the fine print service charge on their paperwork. Unfortunately, we never could quite get over this deceptive scam and our visit was tainted by it. Despite being a nice place with nice employees, we would not recommend. In addition the Pool at the affiliated country club was unusable and the fitness center was very, very dated.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AimeeT1820, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are glad you to hear you enjoyed our food and staff. We are sorry you did not come up to us personally when you were here to talk about this issue you had, we would have loved to handle the situation and put you at ease so you could have enjoyed your stay here more. Our Local Tax and Service Charge (Cleaning Fee) is required by EVERY reservation that is booked here, there is no scam deception it is stated on all booking sites. When you booked third party these polices could be found under the Fine Print section. On our website and when calling direct we make sure it is very clear that guest know about this charge, this is something that we can control. However, when booking third party we do not control the way they choose to show our policies, or if one decides to go read the fine print and know all of our polices before booking. This is sadly a risk one takes when booking third party, not all the time is one clear about all the policies and fees because it involves them going down to read them under the Fine Print Section. We do everything we can to show it is not a scam and make it clear that these polices are there for you to read on all the third party websites, which is why we also print out the fine print section that one could read when checking in. We are sorry you did not see these polices when booking, however guest that booked the same third party site have confirmed that they saw and read the policy and that it is there. We felt bad you did not see the policy that we showed you printed out so we tried to make you feel better by giving you a complimentary glass of champagne to enjoy at the cheese hour, even though that policy was there for you to read when booking, they are also found on our website which you could have read before booking. As to the Country Club we offer this free to our guest to enjoy, but as most pools do when it becomes fall they will decide to close down. We do not have a say when they close, nor do we have a say in the fitness center as this is up to the owners of that country club, we are only just members. There were also tennis courts and golfing you could have enjoyed while there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at The Rhett House Inn was wonderful from start to finish. Our room was lovely. We did experience a plumbing issue and needed to be moved to a new room, the staff was wonderful assisting with the move. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and reading with a view of the trees covered with Spanish Moss. We borrowed a bike at the Inn and enjoyed exploring the city and riding the Spanish Moss trail. Our favorite part of the visit was the extraordinary breakfast and desert. My husband could not wait to get up in the morning to enjoy Beverly's delicious blueberry pancakes, eggs made to order, crisp bacon and flaky biscuits with jam. I enjoyed the fresh fruit and yogurt, the melt in your mouth biscuits and the coffee was delicious. This amazing feast was served on the beautiful porch with the Spanish moss view. In addition to breakfast, when we returned to the inn after exploring the city and dinner, the inn had amazing desert treat, with cakes and one of the best key lime pies we have eaten. We would highly recommend the experience of staying at this inn!!! We are missing Beverly and will return again for the hospitality, comfort and delicious breakfast and treats.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are nicer than the basement level.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JandA4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wife and I have stayed along the SC coast for many, many years and somehow have never been to Beaufort. What a loss on our part!

If you are looking for an escape from the "hustle and bustle" of the major coastline resorts, this is the place for you. The Rhett House Inn is located on a quiet residential street a block from main street and the restaurants, boutiques, galleries and shops. All are in walking distance.

From the front door, reception, your room, staff and the kitchen in the back...all is laid back southern class. While they do not have a large staff, each and every one was smiling, cheery, and ready to assist. The receptionist even stated...."you need anything, just ask...my house is your house". And, she meant every word.

Our 2nd floor room (#4) and balcony (pics attached) were wonderful, cozy and inviting. If we had any criticism (nay warning), our bathroom was fine and adequate in most regards, but "rather tiny" (think closet). From welcoming champagne, to PM snacks and tea, evening wine or desserts in the kitchen after 7P, you cannot go wrong.

In closing, would rant on about Chef Beverly's made-to-order breakfasts or evening desserts, but others have already addressed her...a real treasure!

If you are looking for a quiet, romantic, couples getaway or just some time away for yourself/yourselves, I would put the Rhett House Inn on the top of your list.

Southern Charm to the MAX.....accommodations, staff, food and service!

Room Tip: Rooms can be selected visually by pic on their website
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews