We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No oysters at this Oyster & Steakhouse”

Steamer Oyster & Steakhouse
Ranked #57 of 175 Restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Reviewed 13 June 2017

For years, I have eaten at Steamer when in the Lady's Island area and enjoyed it in the past. However, the food quality has gone downhill recently. On my most recent visit, they didn't even have any fresh oysters even though they call themselves an Oyster Bar. Two days later, I called ahead to see if fresh oysters were available but they still had none.
The fried seafood is good, but only average compared to the many seafood choices on the South Carolina coast.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

I like this place. Fried shrimp were huge and perfectly cooked. Fried oysters were good too. Collards were excellent. Prices are reasonable. My son who lives in Beaufort says it could be his new favorite.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Emilie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

everyone said this was the place to eat. it was fair at best. did not see what all the rave was about. food was decent. was kinda pricey and service was slow.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank cowtown036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Great food, great service, great prices! We've eaten here many times both for lunch and dinner and have never gotten anything we didn't like!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Travel75706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

My wife go there a couple of times a month. The flounder is really good and the draft beer is cold. The servers are always nice and the service is good.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank blmopar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steamer Oyster & Steakhouse also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Port Royal, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Steamer Oyster & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing