We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in the Beaufort Area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best B&B in the Beaufort Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great location, great rooms and great breakfast. We enjoyed being able to walk to everything and taking strolls at night. Though our room (The Oaks Room) was probably the smallest at the inn, you would never know. Plenty of room to stretch-out and relax and the large bathroom made-up for any shortness of space. It was also nice to have a semi-private porch right outside our door. Our host, Jeff, was great. Very helpful with dinner reservations and friendly conversation. Breakfast was great!! Fresh fruit every morning and a good variety with something new each morning. The only draw back was the price, but there is not much to choose from in the Beaufort area. Prices are also very comparable to other B&Bs in the Carolina Low Country for this time of year. One other thing, be prepared that many of the shops and some restaurants in Beaufort close on Sunday, especially if its a holiday (Easter).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    43
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
373
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Staying at this lovely place made our visit to Beaufort just perfect. The view of the bay was great, our hosts were pleasant and friendly, and the breakfasts were excellent. The afternoon wine and cheese and discussion with our hosts and other guests was quite enjoyable. The location is within easy walking distance to town and the marina. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfafftown, NC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights Cuthbert House Inn and were very glad we made the choice to stay here. The Inn is an old house that has been transformed into a beautiful Bed & Breakfast. The public areas are well appointed with some very nice antiques. Our room (The Eastlake Suite) was beautifully furnished with more amazing antiques. My wife fell in love with the artwork in the bedroom. The Inn has a large veranda with very comfortable furnishings and a great view of the river. As wonderful as the physical aspects of the inn are, truely the best part of the stay was the people. On arrival we were greeted by Kelly who checked us in and showed us to our room. She took the time to explain how everything worked (fireplace, breakfast times, etc...) and then brought ice to the room. She also helped set up the social hour, poured wine and made sure guests had what they needed. The hosts/owners, Jeff and Mary Ann, could not have been more friendly and accommodating. They were happy to help with suggestions for restaurants/entertainment. Jeff was quick to help with obtaining reservations. You could not ask for more gracious hosts. Overall, I rate our stay here as well above excellent and highly recommend a stay at The Cuthbert HOuse Inn. I know we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G8RRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Cuthbert House Inn is full of historic charm; it is in a fabulous bay-front location and is within easy walking distance of restaurants, stores, carriage rides, and walking tours. The Inn is the ideal place to stay if you are planning a trip to Beaufort; we parked the car in their parking lot and never moved it until we got ready to leave.

Our room was super clean and spacious with a private bath, queen bed, 2 wingback chairs, a flat screen TV with digital cable, and wine glasses, corkscrew, and a mini-refrigerator for convenience. Morning breakfast and dining area was very nice with windows overlooking the bay.

The public areas of the house are also beautifully decorated; the house has a wonderful veranda and 2nd story porch overlooking the bay, a beautifully decorated patio with hard-scaping, a water feature, benches and bistro tables, as well as lovely manicured grounds.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We only stayed one night at the Cuthbert House Inn but wish we had more time to enjoy the wonderful Southern hospitality. The owners, Jeff and Mary Ann, are excellent hosts. Our room was off of a lovely and peaceful back courtyard garden. The room was huge with a queen bed, desk, armchair and footstool in a classic blue / white china pattern with yellow walls. Very fitting of the historical character of the house. Our room had a large bathroom which also included the coffee / tea supplies and refrigerator. On the desk, they provide free small bottles of water and some helpful brochures about Beaufort. The room was very clean (although don't look too closely at the artificial plants in the wall pots -- lots of dust) and a pleasant place to rest after a long day of sight seeing. Also, thankfully, there was a can of bug spray for your use as the mosquitos are persistant. They are only a couple of blocks from the waterfront and they provide ample parking in the back of the house. The parking is not well marked (that we noticed) and we drove around the block a couple of times trying to find the entrance. The house has a fabulous veranda overlooking the bay and the public areas of the house are beautiful. Breakfast was tasty and filling and Jeff provided entertaining service. We would stay here again if we have the chance to return to Beaufort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southerntlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.4 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.1 km away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.6 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuthbert House Inn

Property: The Cuthbert House Inn
Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,547 - ₹ 18,194
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing