We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of The Old Crown

The Old Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Messing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Old Crown is a country pub dating back to 1885, set in the heart of rural Essex. We serve a varied selection of dishes for lunch and dinner and have great beer on tap.
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Friday evening. Staff very attentive and friendly! Nice selection of starters and main courses which changes daily! And lovely homemade desserts! The brown bread ice cream is particularly scrummy

Thank colin72andclaire73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

What an amazing place.Super atmosphere....
The service was excellent
Food was great price and very good quality....

2  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Owner at The Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you for your kind words. They are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Tucked away in a small Essex village, The Old Crown provides a fantastic dining experience. Lovely old village to start with, great surroundings, and its a traditional old pub(would love to know the date it was built originally) with a wealth of atmosphere and real fires(in winter).
8 of us for lunch and we enjoyed every minute we were there. The service was excellent, the wine list very good, and a very goof menu both for the a la carte and the specials. We all shred an anti pasti platter to start - just to keep us going whilst we savoured a lovely sauvignon blanc.
Mains were concentrated on dover soles(superb), seafood platter(superb), sea bass and a steak sandwich. All were very good indeed and accompanied by spuds and said or fresh vegetables. We were tempted to desserts of ice creams - with the brown bread one turning out to get the super-duper vote.
Other than the bit of a drive to get there, we just could not find anything at fault - totally enjoyable, A total treat in fact.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Only live down the road and am ashamed I’ve not eaten here before. Friendly welcome, lovely relaxed refurbished interior and the food was excellent. Lovely sea bass. Will definitely come again.

1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Yesterday evening (Wednesday 18 May 2018) myself and about 9 of my cycling friends dropped in on The Old Crown at about 9:15pm. Most Wednesday evenings throughout the year we cycle to an Essex pub to enjoy a chat and a few pints.

We chose The Crown as we have been before and several of us have eaten there with our families; our previous experiences have always been good. When we arrived the gentleman behind the bar didn't look too pleased to see us but served us a couple of rounds nonetheless. His colleague, a young lady, was very friendly. About 10:15pm, just as we were about to order a third round, the chap behind the bar suddenly announced they were closing for the evening; by this time we were the only customers left in the pub.

We have been riding to Essex pubs on a Wednesday evening since 2009, most pubs are delighted to see us, often encouraging us to return, after all we normally spend over £100 per visit on beer and bar snacks. This was the first time a pub has ever closed early on us.

It was such a shame as we were having an enjoyable evening and The Old Crown is a lovely pub. After being turfed out we shot off to The Sun in Feering who welcomed the £40 we put in their till!

    • Service
1  Thank SteveR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Owner at The Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you Steve for your review. All I can do is apologise for this very unfortunate experience that you had at my pub. We always welcome people drinking in the pub and there has been many a night when myself or one of the staff has sat for hours while people finish their drinks. I don't know why this happened to you but will look into the reasons. I am glad you were able to get a drink at The Sun and so your whole evening was not spoilt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Crown also viewed

 
Feering, Colchester
 

Been to The Old Crown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing