We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross...not a place you want to take your children!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Warwick
Lake Placid, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gross...not a place you want to take your children!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Let's start by saying that yes, we were a bit spoiled by staying at the Springhill suites the previous two nights. Now, THAT'S a quality hotel. On our third day, we unexpectedly decided to stay one more night in RI and had already checked out of that hotel. We wanted to save money, so I scoured priceline for better rates and reviews and found Extended Stay. Now, mind you, it was only $25 cheaper than Springhill, but by this time, we were on a budget. I wished I had read the tripadvisor reviews on this place and did my research a little better. The lady at the front desk and then men in the back were very pleasant and helpful. That's where it ended. I would have complained to the front desk about our stay, but I think my pride got the best of me. I should have known that this wasn't the place for a family. Smoke filled hallways...dirty men travelling back and forth between rooms, men coming in and out of the hotel, drinking beer, dirty silverware in the kitchen, dirty rooms overall, old school tv's, and grimy carpets. Not to mention when I had trouble getting online, the front desk instructed me to call a 1-800 #, now shouldn't they be fixing my problem? Didn't I pay them to stay there? I was really skeeved out staying in this room. Oh, and no breakfast...not even a donut. Pay the extra $25 and go to Springhill Suites around the corner, for the extra you will get a clean, updated room....a suite, with two new flat screen tv's, microwave, mini fridge, desk, free WORKING wifi, an indoor pool and a fabulous continental breakfast. Extended stay is best for single men, perhaps one nighters, if you know what I mean...or partiers. It was like I was staying back in my dorm at college. YUCK! Extended Stay...you have some work to do on this place!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms...stay far away if you if have kids. Don't be fooled by the kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adkcupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Providence - Airport - West Warwick. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    34
    18
    13
    18
See reviews for
32
37
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here 2 nights for business and was afraid to leave my room. I also worried about the safety of my car and belongings while I was at work.
The lobby was beautiful. And then I got upstairs. The hallway reeked of old food, cigarettes and marijuana. My room didn't smell.... until all of the hallway smells creeped under the door. I had to go out and buy a candle to mask the smell.
The property is being used as a week-by-week apartment complex more often than a week-long-business-stay hotel, and the clientele was sketchy, at best.
And, to top things off, I witnessed at least one drug deal.
I travel to RI weekly for business and have NEVER had a problem before.
As I wrote in the survey sent by ESH, I would rather sleep in my car than stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Providence - Airport - West Warwick. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Warwick hotels

Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

After a long drive and checking in, we found that the toilet was not operational. This made the evening quite frustrating. We felt that it was something that should've been verified before someone checks in. All other areas of the hotel were clean and the hotel served the purpose of its operations as advertised.

Staff was pleasant and the manager, Holly Arora was excellent in rectifying the situation. While the stay at that particular Extended wasn't the greatest, the manager made up for it and I would recommend Extended Stays in general having stayed in others for months at a time. The price as well was extremely reasonable for going into the Labor Day Weekend. Thank you Holly!

Room Tip: We used Hotels.com and that was extremely useful. It takes some research but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I agree with most of what was written by the previous reviewer. Generally, this is a basic no-frills hotel. That is what Extended Stay America offers. No pool. No food. No free internet. Few services. Kitchen in room is helpful if you bring your own food. Larger refrigerator, two-burner stove, microwave oven, toaster, sink, utensils, pots and pans, dishes, glasses and cups for two. We wanted two beds, but it was not available. Double bed was very comfortable. Hallway on third floor smelled like smoke. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby within one mile. Easy to get highway. Getting to Newport took about 35 minutes or so. We paid $45 for the room on Priceline. Was crowded or sold out because of the Newport Folk Festival. Much more affordable than the Newport area hotels (most sold out that weekend).

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pleasuretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I got a room here at a really nice price was was relatively pleased. Have been leery of Extended StayAmerica properties, but they do seem to be working to improve their properties.

Location: Surprised that its advertised as an airport hotel as it seems to be a pretty good distance from the Providence Airport. So I might shy away from the property if proximity to the airport was key. However, you are convenient to I-95 and RI-4 which offer access to other areas. The general location is commercial use with some shopping centers and fast food places around. There are some offices in the area and this would be good for accessing those companies.

Check-in: I arrived at the hotel fairly late. One thing to know about ESA properties is that they don't have a 24-hour front desk. If arriving late, you have to get on the phone in the lobby and call the night manager to get you checked in. The person on staff happened to be doing laundry behind the front desk and was available to check me in immediately. I received a decent studio with a full kitchen. My overall impression at check in was that the hotel has had some work done to it recently. So the lobby and exterior look like they have had some upgrades.

One note about my arrival was that there was probably some work crews staying at the hotel and parked their trucks in the front lot. They parked the trucks horizontally, taking away about 15 parking spaces which left little for arriving guests.

Room: This is one of the few hotels I have stay in this decade that still uses the old VingCards which are plastic cards with holes in them to open the door, It was fine, but unlike other keycards, I think you can get fined if you lose one.

The room was unspectacular but generally clean. Two double beds. Consistent with other ESAs, there was a tiny TV in the room. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the kitchen area had plenty of plates and silverware if we chose to eat in. My main complaint was the mattresses. Extremely uncomfortable and left me with a sore back in the morning. If they had to do anything, I would suggest replacing the mattresses. Honestly, if I were returning to the area, this could be a factor in choosing another hotel. On this particular stay, I was a bit squeezed as other hotels didn't have rooms available.

Service: Limited. The front desk has the Providence Journal available which is better than receiving the standard USA Today. The staff overall was pleasant and I have no complaints. There isn't a restaurant or bar at the property.

My overall impression was that the hotel looks like it has been improved but still has work to do. If you have back problems, the mattress might give you fits. However, the price was right given the lack of availability and its hard to complain. However, I would not book a long-term stay here as the sleep quality would wear on me after a while.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms scattered around the property and can smell it in the halls. Ask for something on non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR_PHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Warwick
0.9 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in West Warwick
173 reviews
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Providence West Warwick
4.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
NYLO Providence/Warwick
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn Coventry-Warwick Area
8.3 km away
Best Western Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick

Property: Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick
Address: 1235 Division Road, West Warwick, RI 02893
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > West Warwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Warwick
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,695 - ₹ 12,681
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay West Warwick
West Warwick Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing