We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely RI B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Loaf Hill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakefield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sugar Loaf Hill B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Wakefield B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely RI B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Sugar Loaf Hill Inn is right on the outside of the town of Wakefield, on the main street but in a secluded spot. The house is very welcoming and cozy, the rooms charming, and Stephanie and her husband so helpful with everything - our was a last minute trip but they were prepared for our arrival despite the short notice and very accommodating. Stephanie's suggestions about the area were great, we just wish we had more time to visit all the places she recommended. And her breakfast was abundant and absolutely delicious! We'll definitely come back when we are in the area, thank you very much for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emivaltc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stephanie and Dave are wonderful hosts. The B&B is extremely comfortable and the breakfasts are terrific. They're very friendly and make you feel entirely at home. B&B is close to beaches and restaurants and is a perfect base for sightseeingg around RI &CT. Love it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

This bed and breakfast is located in a very old historic home, and the owners are very nice, congenial people. The breakfasts were very good, and as another reviewer pointed out, the hosts give you as little or as much privacy as you require.

However, if you have any types of allergies to mold, you will not want to stay here. The mold and allergens in the air and in the air conditioning units are very high. I had much difficulty breathing at night and had to take maximum amounts of allergy medication.

If you don't have allergies, however, you will find this a charming, historic B&B.

Also of unusual note, the owners don't take credit cards and require you to pay for one night's stay prior to your arrival.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Very well kept B&B. Lovely house and gracious hosts who will either lavish local info or respect your desire for privacy, according to your wishes.
We have used it 4 times for out-of-town guests and they have all been delighted.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DemainDeslAube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

My sister and I stayed at Sugar Loaf Hill for 2 nights in late August. We had a lovely time with the lovely hosts. The breakfasts were excellent, as were the accommodations. The owners are charming and take great care that you enjoy your stay.

I will definitely return to this B&B.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank piet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
4.2 km away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.5 km away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 km away
Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Hill B&B

Property: Sugar Loaf Hill B&B
Address: 607 Main St, Wakefield, South Kingstown, RI 02879-4012
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown > Wakefield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing