We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our meal”

Jimmy's Portside Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 94 Restaurants in Narragansett
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Description: Family owned and operated since 1956, serving the finest seafood around. On the main street of Galilee right across from the dock of the Block Island Ferry.
Restaurant details
Description: Family owned and operated since 1956, serving the finest seafood around. On the main street of Galilee right across from the dock of the Block Island Ferry.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were in a large group but had no trouble getting a table. The service wasn't fast but the meal was very good. Good variety and not too expensive.

Thank Jsmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2018

Great restaurant to patronize while you wait for your ferry to Block Island. Fresh oysters and very good clam chowder. Fish (flounder) and chips were delicious. Excellent cole slaw! Melissa was a great server.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunapee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

This place could drop the hammer price-wise since it is so convenient for tourists going to the ferry...but it does not. The food was good, the service was nice, and the prices were reasonable. I half expected to be bludgeoned seeing as this was across the street from the boat, but it was fine. Ate here on the way to Block Island and happily went back on the way home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrella99, Owner at Jimmy's Portside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for the kind words happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We are on vacation. It's October and there is no wait for beach restaurants. We read good things about Jimmy's and tried it. I got friend clams on grilled roll. My husband got stuffed clams and clam chowder. None of it was worth writing about. Chowder....milky with no taste. Like it was thrown together in the back in 5 min. My fried clams....just okay and the grilled roll, barely grilled and not buttered. French fries were out of a frozen bag. A waste of $12.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at Jimmy's Portside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Sorry you did not enjoy your meal. Our chowder is homemade and not thick style chowder. We do butter are rolls on a flat top grill and our fries are not hand cut, but we use a expensive Simplot 3/8 straight cut real potato. I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy anything that is not our goal. We been in business since 1956 and I want every customer happy. Inbox me if you like portside1956@gmail.com. We can work something out I don't want you to have a bad taste in your mouth and would love to gain you back. Even if its on your next vacation. Very sorry Christine and I want to make you happen. Thanks for reaching out to us.
James Petrella Jr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Despite being locals, today was our 1st visit, to this establishment. It was a rainy, foggy day - well past tourist season - yet, the window was still open. Our order taker was very friendly & helpful. She even made suggestions that saved us money on our order. Our order was ready in about 3 minutes. We ordered: chowder, clamcakes, shrimp roll and a cheeseburger. The shrimp roll was quite good. Overflowing and lightly breaded. The simple cheeseburger was Absolutely delicious. We enjoyed our foggy, Autumn lunch outside.

Thank clamcake67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy's Portside Restaurant also viewed

South Kingstown, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 

Been to Jimmy's Portside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing