We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
274
126
19
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
126
19
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basketball court cookies full size fridge an extended stay separate bedroom high prices free breakfast business center great place to stay evening reception the sofa bed family vacation minute drive room was spotless very nice hotel hot breakfast front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

All went well with our stay.
The room was excellent, clean and spacious. Good mattresses. Staff was very pleasant. Check in and checkout was efficient. Good hot breakfast with decent selection.
We recommend it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dukeatbrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla K, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Dukeatbrays,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Newport Middletown through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

As a valued guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Priscilla Karageh
General Manager
Residence Inn Middletown RI
priscilla.karageh@marriott.com
401-845-2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I am a frequent traveler and always choose Marriott hotels when I can as I am a Platinum member. For the October holiday weekend we booked a 2 bedroom "suite" at the Residence Inn which we paid $600 a night! I would think for that money we would get a nice room and a relaxing stay. The property is fine and is located about 1.75 miles from downtown Newport. However, from the minute we checked in to our suite we had a problem with the room, which for $600 a night you would think we wouldnt. The people above us in room 316 were crazy. They were either playing football or holding an all out dance party and this was 3pm saturday . The ceiling was shaking, the lights in our room were flickering and the noise was unbearable so we complained and asked the front deskk to move us to another suite . They said we should stay put and they will handle it . We got back to our suite saturday night, the football game above us was still going on , we complained again. No help. This went until we checked out monday and paid our $1,200 bill, which they gladly accepted . I complained to the manager as we checked out and got the standard "oh Im so sorry here are some marriott points". How about telling the people in a hotel to take their craziness outside or somewhere else, how about fixing the problem. It was a terrible stay and for the amount of money they charged us I feel like I was robbed. Never going back . Shame on you Residence Inn.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nyctmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla K, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017


Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take matters such as this very seriously. We strive for a great experience and apologize that your stay fell short of that.

Sincerely,
Priscilla K
General Manager
Residence Inn Middletown RI
401-845-2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and stayed in a two bedroom suite at this hotel. We were very comfortable. Plenty of room for the kids to run around, inside and outside of the hotel, as well as many amenities. Having a full kitchen is always a plus when traveling with kids, as well as two bathrooms. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, as was the staff.

The hotel was close to everything we planned to do. It was about a 6 minute drive to downtown Newport. We didn't drive for more than 10 minutes going anywhere.

There's a shopping plaza right next to the hotel. They have a Starbucks, supermarket, CVS and many other shops within walking distance. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank truffles17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The Residence Inn, located right outside of Newport, was the perfect getaway. A full-sized fridge plus plenty of counter space allowed us to prepare and bring our own food since we keep kosher. The best part was that as opposed to other properties, the Residence Inn allowed us to bring our own grill and use it on their beautiful terrace. The fire pit enabled us to make smores (even allowing us to bring our own ingredients) and the staff even saved sticks for us, since we weren't done with our meal while others were roasting marshmellows.
The staff went above and beyond the call of duty, ready to help with anything -
whether putting the kids' bikes in storage, calling the Newport Visitor Center to help us locate a lost cell phone (it was found), or making reservations for the oh-so-convenient shuttle that takes you into downtown Newport.
Additionally, there were plenty of kosher options at the breakfast buffet.
Kudos to the amazing staff at this hotel - we hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ilana2017B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Very comfortable studio suite for an extended stay. The hotel offers nightly themed social gatherings for guests and leaves themed treats and invitations in the room. Peg is the sweetest person in housekeeping and knew every dog on our floor. 1st and 2nd floors are dog friendly and there were many of all sizes during the weeks we were there! The full size fridge and microwave and dishwasher were very convenient, and the Shaws grocery store is in walking distance. The location is very convenient to downtown, the bridges, and all the beaches.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank artistmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews