We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good As Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I was on business travel and stayed at the Residence Inn. The room was nice and typical of a Residence Inn. The room was clean and fairly updated. There was a small issue with room cleanliness, but I brought it to the management's attention and they fixed it right away. I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

We brought our small dog and the hotel is very nice about that. $75 charge but that is understandable. Pros: Quiet, beds are comfortable, rooms are spacious, near grocery and liquor store, clean, nice staff. Cons: We asked for 1st floor, got 2nd. Our room looks out on the roof so we got light but can't even see the sky. The TV channels were unacceptable. About 30 channels, of which 20 were either sports or news, the rest were nothing I like (no Food network, HGTV, TVland, TV westerns, etc.) Price was reasonable and this place is still a good value but not in a great location...nestled in amongst shopping centers and chain restaurants. Still it got us cloe to Newport without being stuck in the bustle and high prices of Newport.

Room Tip: Ask for room near door or stairwell. Many are very far from an exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbymaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npt_traveler, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

We are happy to learn that you were pleased with the cleanliness, service and size of your suite. I apologize that we were not able to provide the 1st floor for you: I understand that it's so much easier when travelling with a dog. For those of you travelling without pets, our upper floor are pet-free and offer a different view. Upgrades to our TVs are being made now and we hope to offer additional channels at a future date. Our location, which is set back away from the main road between a residential neighborhood and other local businesses, provides for easy access to a variety of destinations. I'm sorry it was not a good fit for you but we hope you will return. Feel free to contact me when you make your next reservation!
Sincerely,
Jeff Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Had a great time staying at Mariott Residence Inn located in Middletown,RI

The staff were truly great as they surprised me and my wife with flowers in the room for our 10th Wedding Aniversary. Peter and Liz were great in answering all of our questions regarding the Newport area. I highly recommend this place..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sealteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I just returned home from a wonderful 3 day weekend at this pet friendly hotel. We usually do not travel with our 2 dogs, but because our dog sitter had an emergency and couldn't "baby" sit for us, we booked this hotel and brought the "family" along. At check in we received doggy treats and a pamphlet with locations for the nearest vet, doggy park, ect. We had a 1 bedroom suite, and it was spacious and immaculate! Only the bottom 2 floors of this 4 story hotel are pet friendly, so when booking your room make sure you call them in advance and inform them that you are traveling with your pet so they reserve a lower room for you. You will be charged a one time pet fee of $75 for your stay, but this must be why the carpets and furniture are so clean! There are magnets to attach to your door to tell others that your pets are inside and there are poop bags outside the doors for your convenience.The staff were all so friendly and efficient. I agree with an earlier post, about the eggs not being good, but everything else was so great I didn't care! I'm booking this hotel again for my next trip up to Newport, even if I don't bring my "babies".

Room Tip: Only the bottom 2 floors have pet friendly rooms, so make sure you inform the hotel you are travelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MilissaRockaway_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here for a week in November. Very nice staff, rooms were spotless and spacious. Staff helpful in providing a room away from the pet- friendly floor (severe dog allergy so pet friendly hotels are usually a deal breaker). The breakfast was good and the evening reception was a nice surprise. Really no complaints. Will definitely come back next year for our annual trip to Newport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skye05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
3.1 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.7 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
283 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newport Middletown

Address: 325 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Middletown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#6 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: ₹ 8,792 - ₹ 27,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport County's newest hotel featuring 97 spacious suites, each with full kitchen and separate areas for sleeping, eating, working and relaxing. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, sport court, business center, guest laundry and all the comforts of home including free HS internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and social hour Monday, Tuesday & Thursday evenings. Beer & wine bar. Just 2 miles from the scenic attractions of Newport, yet nearby to the Navy Base and Corporate Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Residence Inn Middletown
Middletown Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing