We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
44
97
72
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
97
72
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street the cliff great location indoor pool easton's beach room was clean great rate short drive the breakfast area atlantic grill first floor plenty of parking nice stay close to downtown newport cereal inns
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

When forming your expectations, keep in mind that this a Comfort Inn; you shouldn't have four star images in your head because it's not designed to be a four star hotel. All of that said, this is a fine two star hotel with a great location. My room was reasonably comfortable, spacious and clean. However, the awesome clerk on duty when I checked in hooked me up with some sort of "feluxe" room on the third floor (room 340). The room felt like alarmed attic room, in a good way. The real selling point for my room were a set of French doors that opened out into the ocean. There wasn't,t s balcony, but so what. The view and ocean smell were intoxicating. I had no issues with the fixtures or furniture, except for the bathroom faze. It's an older late 90s Broan model that was wasn,t mounted well. Consequently it's quite noisy and annoying as hell when it,s rocking and rolling in its poorly fitted ceiling mount. That and the thing really needs a good cleaning. Fortunately there was adequate lighting, so I didn't need to turn it on. On the plus side, the staff was awesome and very helpful, including when my toilet was--ahem--clogged. Breakfast is nothing to write home about, but it's free. Tickets restaurant next door has genuinely good food and also is a nice place to get drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmikew30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice place off and durin season my choice its 5 minutes from down town and its abit more quite that i personaly like. Durin the season you have sports bar right next time you and the beach is a 2 minute walk

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Comfort Inn Middletown is an moderate hotel in Newport. Near to the beach. The rooms are quite big, clean. The breakfast is very poor! Reception is polite and helpful. I only recommended for business trips.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank TheoCha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Fantastic place - the staff, location and price were great. Lyndsay is a superb manager who focuses on the customer experience. While the Newport area is full of hotels and B&Bs, there are not many that are reasonably priced. This hotel is 5 minutes from downtown with plenty of parking, a small pool for kids and quick breakfast. The rooms are clean, spacious and quite comfortable. What made our trip especially enjoyable is the many laughs we had with the kind staff and other guests. They made for a perfect weekend and we couldn't have asked for more. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura012012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

You can't beat the location of this hotel if you're spending time on the beach. Just park the car and cross the street. There are excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance too.
Here are a few comments about my experience:
The heater is either blasting heat, or barely blasting heat. It was difficult to find a comfortable temperature. There's no thermostat. And the fan is always blowing; it doesn't cycle on/off.
The breakfast buffet is OK. Nothing special. And it's off-season so the bagels were stale. There are decent selections though [fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs]. And again there are good breakfast options across the street if you want to pay.
The price is excellent off-season. We would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: I think top floors would have a good view of the ocean. We requested one but were given a lower floor on the wrong side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews