We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never staying at econolodge again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never staying at econolodge again.”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

After reading most of the good reviews on trip advisor, we decided to book this motel. Big mistake. The walls and ceiling of the motel are paper thin. We could hear every single word the people next door spoke, and hear every step the people on the 2nd floor took. Both of the nights that we spent here were sleepless. The breakfast was mediocre at best. The towels were dirty( there were mysterious black spots on the towels) Lastly, there was a strong stench in the room so that it was very hard to breath. We asked to switch rooms, but were told that the motel was full. We will never stay at econolodge again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrypotter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    29
    18
    18
See reviews for
33
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed for 5 days while visiting family in the area. Hotel was average, nothing spectacular, but good for the price. Added bonus was the small refrigerator in the room. It was a hassle to constantly ask for the pool to be unlocked during the day, as everytime we went, the gate was locked. Also, housekeeping staff has limited English. One day we left our room for the majority of the day, and when the housekeeper left our room, didn't pull our door shut completely. Thankfully nothing was missing, but would have been a disaster if our valuables had been stolen. Breakfast was below average in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citymouse22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The location is good and the parking is free. We asked for extra towels and pillows and were told they didn't have any extra. Really? There were about 6 cars in the lot. The room was pretty big, but the bathroom was a funky shape and the mirror was at an angle that it was impossible to do your hair and makeup. Breakfast was a joke. There was nothing I could eat. How hard is it to hardboil a dozen eggs and put them in a basket? Or have some english muffins? We ended up going to Dunkin Donuts. It was a last minute trip, so this was the only hotel available. Next time we'll plan a little further ahead.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelyn318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I was drawn to this motel with a good price so the quality was a nice surprise. Room was quite big, clean and comfortable. The location is also nice since it's just minutes drive from Newport. Great stay for the money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krzysiek82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Great value and close to Newport for the Mansions tours. The rooms are large and a basic breakfast is included in the price. Plenty of parking available and convenient eating places around. Not very noisy despite being on a busy road

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Buff_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.5 km away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
3.4 km away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#7 of 18 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
1.8 km away
Bay Willows Inn
Bay Willows Inn
#12 of 18 in Middletown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites

Property: Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
Address: 1359 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6355 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,073 - ₹ 17,325
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing