We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good value convenient location with great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good value convenient location with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

this is my third time here
very good value near newport
not fancy but clean big rooms quiet and great service
friend complained the cars in front were loud but i was okay. room in back is quieter but front room nicer
best town to stay when in newport and dont want to waste money

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huggy0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    50
    34
    15
    9
See reviews for
38
73
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, In
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Not sure what I expected. My husband is a Choice member but this is first Ascend hotel we've stayed in. The facility is old - I was told after our visit that it used to be a nursing home which explained alot. The rooms were huge & the elevator was what you'd find in a hospital. Bedroom was clean but the bathroom was small & needed some work. The hallway from the elevator to front lobby needed a good cleaning - windows were covered with cobwebs & very dirty. Breakfast was so-so. Desk personnel were very helpful. It was convenient to restaurants & tourist areas. I would probable not stay there again now that I know it was previously a nursing home - I thought that was a little "creepy".

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed there for a night get away. The Inn was close to everything. Room was neat and so was the bathroom. The only set back was the breakfast. Don't expect much. The bed was comfy. Had a microwave and a fridge. Quiet residential area. Liked their backyard which had a small porch, and you can sit in the sun, have a cup of coffee. Overall, not a bad stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buggsie1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

we spent one night at this Inn on Sept. 14, 2011 while attending the Newport boat show. The building looks old, but a lot af charm comes with the old. The front desk staff was always accommodating and friendly, going out of their way to explain or recommend things. The room was plenty big enough for us and bathroom was clean and in perfect order. Maybe the only complaint is the noise from water running when others take showers, but it was after we had got up so it really didn't disturb us. I felt a lot more at home there than in a huge hotel and would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RICK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at the Carrage House for a night on the way to Cape Cod on Sunday 8/14.
It'a a nice bed and breakfast sort of place, an old house made in to an inn.
Our room was upstairs, they do have an elevator, but it's in back and a long walk around from the front desk.
Room was clean as was the bathroom.
In the morning, after being out for a few hours and getting ready for check out we noticed the bed was soaking wet. The sprinkler fitting above the bed was leaking! Not sure if it was all the rain causing it or the plumbing. Glad it didn't happen overnight while we were sleeping..
Breakfast was good, lots things to choose from.
No swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
2.2 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
2.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 km away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 km away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 93 Miantonomi Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,858 - ₹ 10,694
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing