We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Really nice affordable hotel, will definitely come back.

Pros:
The property, rooms, pool, restaurant/breakfast area were very clean.
The location is quite good (about 10 minutes from the main attractions in Newport).
Very affordable.
Well appointed rooms (flat screen TV, 80 Channels, nice bathroom, fridge and microwave...)

Cons:
Not on the water, you will have to pay quite a bit more to be.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherpa_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 287 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently traveled back home to pack up my fathers house and needed a place to stay for 2 weeks. Since it was such a long stay I needed something with affordable prices that wasn't going to make me nauseous. A family member of mine always use to stay here when she was in town so I decided to give it a chance and was very happy with my choice.

Check in was simple and Tim at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean when I arrived and the most I found wrong with it was a minor stain on the curtain. Through out the stay housekeeping also did a very good job of keeping the place clean. The breakfast in the morning was as good as one would expect from a free breakfast but the coffee was hot and the bagels weren't stale so it got the job done (especially with a Dunkin Donuts a block away). There is also a chili's right next door for convenient eating.

The only problem I had was that the mattress in the room wasn't very comfortable. That said it wasn't like sleeping on a board either. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faye_whitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We decided to kick off a New England road trip for our Anniversary with a stay in Newport and since I'm a PCR Platinum member I of course decided to use PCR points for this stay. After driving 10 hours we were really looking forward to the Jacuzzi room I had booked for 25,000 pts (pts worth $250 value).

First off this location is now where near as central to the popular downtown/harbour area as it looks on a map which is actually 4 miles away and too far to walk and there is nothing of interest nearby so after checking in we went downtown for the afternoon and returned in the evening after a great time in Dwtn Newport and looking forward to that Jacuzzi after a long day.

We get Jacuzzi rooms probably 40 times a year so have a routine (inspection-fill&drain-wipe down) to make sure they are clean. This one looked ok on the surface but after filling it and running through a cycle it was disgustingly dirty and looked like someone washed a muddy dog in it based on the massive amount of chunks of dirty/stuff from the water jet lines that filled the tub. Disgusting and unusable. Checked the rest of the room and with the exception of the bed someone did a very poor job of cleaning it. Went to call the front desk and the phone didn't work (connection on the wall just hangs loose so random connection). A very apologetic and nice person on the front desk could not come down to look at it as they were short staffed ie (1) person on and no cleaners and no other rooms as sold out.

Sooo....the Jacuzzi was useless and we had to wipe down the room with sani-wipes that evening to use the room. So disappointed in this stay we couldn't wait to leave early and didn't even try the breakfast we paid for as creeped out on hygiene here.

Bed was comfortable, the A/C worked fine, and lots of parking but that's it for positives

Conclusion: Left a note (with my contact info) for the Manager upon check-out and also complained in a survey later that I was not pleased and denied what I had paid for but received no response for a while then suddenly I get 50% of my points back on the PCR website. If I received what I paid for i.e. safe/clean Jacuzzi and a cleaned room fine it would have been worth the 25000 pts but if I knew we had no Jacuzzi and it was a self-serve room cleaning I'd have found another hotel. Point is as a high volume client of this brand when I experience such a denial of services like this from a location I get a full refund and assurance's it won't happen again but not at this facility. I'm a big fan of IHG but next time in Newport we'll book with a competitor actually downtown and we'll never go back nor recommend to anyone given way too many issues around our first stay.

Room Tip: Unfortunately in our case...the best way to get a good room here was to stay somewhere else. Cleanin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

T M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We visited Newport and wanted to stay near downtown, but even in the off-season the Marriott wanted $179/night plus a parking fee! Luckily we discovered the Holiday Inn Express for less than half the price and only a 10-minute drive to all the main Newport sites. We were given a "king suite" which was very clean, roomy and comfortable. Staff was extremely pleasant. Our only complaint was the breakfast -- the "omelet" was stale and rubbery, and the pancake machine was broken our first morning. Stick with the "safe" options: cereal and yogurt.

Room Tip: We were near the side exit, which could be a little noisy when people were coming in and out, but ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eproofreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had a billing discrepancy with this hotel. I was quoted one price for two rooms just before Christmas and was charged a much higher price upon checkout. I was told the manager would have to look at my confirmation quote, but the manager was not available. A day later I made a call to the hotel and left a voice message which was never returned. A couple of days later, I made another call to the hotel manager and left another voice message which was never returned. I have sent two complaints via email to Holiday Inn Guest Relations and have had no response from the hotel manager. You would think in this economy that Holiday Inn would be more responsive, especially to a Priority Club Rewards, Gold member.
I have ceased doing business with Holiday inn and now stay at Marriott-owned properties and have been very happy with their hotels and guest servcies and rewards program.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you have a problem, they don;t care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middletown hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.4 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
288 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
1.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
4.1 km away
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
#14 of 18 in Middletown
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Address: 855 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: ₹ 4,777 - ₹ 20,255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Newport, Beaches, The Newport Mansions and so much more; Holiday Inn Express Middletown is the perfect retreat from a long day of adventures and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing