We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice people and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice people and good breakfast”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have stayed twice at this Holiday Inn. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The first time we were in a standard, which is like any other hotel room- with a microwave and fridge. The second time was an executive room. In addition to the bed, it had a sofa, coffee table, microwave and fridge. They have "soft and "firm" pillow choice.
The pool is indoor, as is the jacuzzi. They are renovating now, installing new carpets in the hallway. I'm not sure what other updates they are doing.
The breakfast is nice. They have the automatic pancake maker, cinammon buns, yogurt,cold cereal,toast,bagels, muffins hard boiled eggs, juice-as well as coffee, tea and hot cocoa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    152
    68
    38
    23
See reviews for
137
132
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

THis hotel is very centrally located to Newport RI. It's super clean, helpful staff and will stay there again in a heartbeat! we had a problem with our DVD player & AMy from the front desk came up to trouble shoot at 10 pm. It was un-fixable, so she ran downstairs and got us a new one! Their buffet breakfast is awesome! they actually have a machine that makes pnacakes for you!!! loves our stay there!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmori2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Nice hotel, had a jacuzzi room which was great after a day of walking around Newport....they have a Chilis in the parking lot, the only drawback was that the walls were very thin and you can hear people above you walking around....overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms are great, but they are on the 1st floor, but you have to trade off having people abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtics323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2011

this hotel is actually a positive surprise. For me, a holiday inn express is reliable and priced right but usually without some of the nicer touches of a more expensive hotel. That is fine by me because I am usually looking for a convenient location at a decent price and clean. I use the room to sleep and shower. So if the bed is comfortable, the shower is hot, the ac/heat unit works and isn't noisy, and the tv is decent and has some channels to choose from, I am happy. Admittedly, that is not a vey ambitious list for a hotel. This hotel has all these things. It also has some nice touches too: like two types of pillows, a really nice breakfast and a clean new feel. Not that the place is unappealling from the outside but nicer than I expected on the inside. The front desk person told me the hotel was just renovated, and you could tell because everything looked new. I also like the internet in the room because it was available both hardwire and wireless. My wireless broke on my computer while I was travelling and plugging in made life a lot easier. Before I checked in, not knowing about the hard wire connection, I looked in on the business center to see if I could use that and it was totally adequate. Two up to date computers and a free printer. My room rate was thinke $79 and I think all that is a good deal for the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

this hotel is located in Middletown ri right outside of Newport and shares land with a chilis restaurant. I think it is a very nice place to stay based on the price which was extremely reasonable and the location which is probably as good as it gets in Middletown. The room that I stayed in had just been renovated and I mean just been renovated. The woman at the fron desk told me that I was the first person to stay in it because the work had just finished the day before. The renovation is stylish and comfortable and the room has all the little things you expect in a nice hotel like a flat screen tv, triple sheeted bed, free wifi ...The hotel also had a pool and excercise room which I did not use but that both looked nice. Finally, the free breakfast is a real full breakfast not just some pretend going through the motions type thing. A very nice feature.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
1.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
277 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
2.3 km away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Address: 855 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,854 - ₹ 27,252
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Newport, Beaches, The Newport Mansions and so much more; Holiday Inn Express Middletown is the perfect retreat from a long day of adventures and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing