We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Newport Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Adequate, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Kids enjoyed the pool. Front desk was helpful and welcoming. Rooms were clean. Decor is contemporary and new. Only complaint is the typical dirty mugs near the coffee machine in the room - lip stick and nasty. It is details like this that make the difference between a clean hotel and one that appears clean. The complimentary coffee wasn't available when we wanted one however it was available in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incogmoniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    121
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
97
74
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Having planned a wedding in Newport a few years ago, I thought I was familiar with all of the affordable options for lodging in the area (yeah, there aren't many!). But we just discovered this gem on another visit recently, and were so pleasantly surprised.

Visitors to Newport might overlook it, or be put off by the fact that it's not in Newport proper -- but don't be! It's a 10-20 minute drive from just about anything you'd want to see in the area, from Newport's harbor to the mansions. And many of the best places for families to eat in Newport (Anthony's Seafood, Blue Plate, Flo's in season) aren't in the walkable part of downtown, anyway, so you're centrally located to them as well.

The staff was friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in. The place has been renovated with care very recently, and it shows -- I couldn't find anything dingy or scuffed around the edges. The rooms were so clean that I felt perfectly comfortable allowing my baby to crawl around on the carpets and beds (which were very comfy!). The decor is minimal and soothing, and I appreciated their efforts to be "green" (separate recycling wastebin, mugs and glasses rather than plastic, etc.).

It was nice having a cafe that serves Starbucks in the lobby -- didn't try their food options at lunch/dinner, but it seemed like they had some decent stuff to choose from. My only quibble with the set-up would be that in some cases, the front desk staff had to be called over to make/sell drinks from the cafe and the self-serve vending area -- I felt sort of bad having the main host do this, and it seems like it would be better to have dedicated food servers/baristas. But that was during the off season, and not a big deal. Technology was sort of a bummer -- our phones (Sprint) were on roaming and had a terrible connection throughout the complex. They say they have free wireless, but it was so slow as to be useless; however, we did appreciate the PCs and printers provided in the lobby area.

We didn't get to try the pool or fitness area, but it looked nice. Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: If you stay here, I recommend requesting a courtyard-facing room -- there are some that face out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityMouseBklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Clean rooms, night desk staff was not overly friendly and I witnessed a guest waiting to check in for quite some time as nobody was present at the desk. Housekeeping staff was excellent. Very friendly and went out of their way to assist with extra towels etc. Would stay here again if in the area. One complaint, the pool area flooring was awful stones causing stones to come up and end Oo in the hot tub and pool.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ineedavacation88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed two nights and was very impressed with both the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly staff. Good location only ten minutes drive to downtown Newport and beaches. I went in the winter festival celebration and it was nice relaxing in the pool and spa after being on my feet all day. I had dinner at the cafe and it was very nice and reasonable and I didn't have to leave the hotel. The hotel has been updated since my last visit and has lots of extras like the portals (see their website ) fireplace big screen TV's and several computers for patrons in the lobby. would definitely recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: all rooms appeared to be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachmom4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Went on a trip to Newport the day after Christmas. My Aunt and I stayed three nights. I hadn't stayed at a Courtyard since they did them over. I was very impressed with how the place looked. The rooms were very nice. The beds were comfortable. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.7 km away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
1.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
4.7 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newport Middletown

Property: Courtyard Newport Middletown
Address: 9 Commerce Drive, Middletown, RI 02842
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,236 - ₹ 22,621
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newport Middletown provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. As one of the premier hotels in Middletown, RI, our 148 spacious guest rooms and suites offer luxury bedding, large work desks, ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs, and more. Unique among Middletown, RI hotels, our signature GoBoard(R) enables guests to stay current with the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves freshly-prepared meals, Starbucks(R), and evening cocktails. Our business center, with high-speed Internet access and complimentary printing services, stands out among nearby Newport, RI hotels. Business travelers will appreciate our convenient location and 1,449 sq. ft. of meeting space. Our hotel in Middletown is also ideal for students and parents interested in St. Georges School, Portsmouth Abbey, URI, Salve Regina, Roger Williams and Brown Universities. The Courtyard Newport Middletown, RI hotel offers the ultimate in productivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newport Middletown Hotel Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
Middletown Courtyard
Middletown Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing