We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel like you stepped back in time and are living on your saltwater farm in the 1700's!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Mount Hope Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Ranked #4 of 5 Bristol B&B and Inns
siasconset
1 review
“Feel like you stepped back in time and are living on your saltwater farm in the 1700's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed here for a trip to Bristol for a college graduation, and it made the entire weekend memorable! The rooms were large and clean, and nicely decorated in keeping with the historic nature of the home. the innkeepers made it seem like it was "ours" for our stay, and we felt very welcome hanging out in the various rooms to read, converse, or have a beverage. The breakfasts out in the restored barn were wonderful!! Local yogurt with homemade granola, fruit, homemade quiche...it was a wonderful start to the day, and the the staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds are lovely, and the walk out to the point on the water was beautiful! There are even chickens and other animals around to add to the atmosphere. If you are looking for a super high-end four star hotel with marble bathrooms and modern amenities then this may not be for you...but if you want to feel like you have just bought your own historic home on 200 beautiful acres for you to use, and be cared for by local kind and friendly staff, then definitely check out this location. It is absolutely wonderful for reunions, family get-togethers and the like...LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We traveled to Bristol, Rhode Island for a family reunion event. We found ourselves steeped in the history of the colonial town of Bristol. Our stay at the Mount Hope Farm was the perfect complement. The farm was conveniently located to Bristol's sites and restaurants, yet it was an oasis of calm and beauty. In the afternoon, we took a walk around the property, which fronts onto beautiful Mount Hope Bay. Our family gathered in the kitchen afterwards for coffee and fresh-baked cookies. The innkeeper, Cathy McManus, could not have been more hospitable or helpful. She served delicious breakfasts, offered suggestions for sites to see and restaurants, and even brought in some helpful reference books about the history of the town. Newport is just a few minutes away as well, which offered additional activity options for the family.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify King or Queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prosprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddam, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

This beautiful inn on 200 acres is a dream come true. My husband and I love and study American history and architecture, and this inn had it all. It was probably the most memorable New England inn we've ever stayed in. Cathy the innkeeper was really sweet and obliging. The rooms were lovely in their furnishings. It is a hop, skip and a jump from Bristol, which is also an architectural treasure. And it has fabulous restaurants. This whole visit was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33799Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

It is only a 45 minute drive from Boston and yet it felt like we had traveled back in time. Staying at the Inn at Mount Hope Farm brings you into a time and place when life is simpler and people kinder. Cathy welcomed us as if we were family. She showed us to our room (the Heffenreffer Suite) which has a king size bed atop an oriental carpet, a fireplace and a walk-in closet. It was tastefully decorated and spotlessly cleaned. In the morning we walked through the property to admire its natural and historic beauty. At breakfast the staff helped us to plan our day as we enjoyed juice, coffee, fresh fruit , warm baked bread, quiche and more. Again, it was like gathering around the table with old friends. Just one night was so relaxing that I felt like I had been on a much longer vacation. I recommend sneaking away here when you need to take a deep breath and de-stress.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake577105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This B&B is charming but would be better if everything worked. Our shower dribbled and the lights flickered,but the staff (Cathy) was terrific. She helped plan our sight-seeing day and was invaluable for restaurant info and advice. She went above and beyond the call of duty. I would return only if she was guaranteed to be there. This B&B has great plans for the future as a working farm. I'd like to revisit in a couple of years.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfriend07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
1.7 km away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
12.2 km away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
9.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
15.3 km away
Hampton Inn Seekonk
Hampton Inn Seekonk
#1 of 8 in Seekonk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
17.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mount Hope Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mount Hope Farm

Property: The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Address: 250 Metacom Ave, Bristol, RI 02809-5180
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate and historically charming getaway with country-style hospitality, The Inn at Mount Hope Farm is a popular escape from everyday life where guests come to unplug and enjoy the peacefulness and simplicity of history and nature. The 12-room Inn dating back to 1745 offers individually-styled rooms that ensure comfort and relaxation. Architecturally designed gardens and expansive landscape provide beautiful views from every angle and our central location provides easy access to major happenings in Newport, Providence, and Prudence Island. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Mount Hope Farm's grand country estate sits on the shore of Mount Hope Bay and encompasses 127 acres of preserved open space, offering miles of easy and beautiful forested walking trails. Mount Hope Farm is the preferred setting for hundreds of weddings, special events and milestone occasions throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn At Mount Hope Farm (Governor Bradford House) Hotel Bristol
Country Inn Bristol
Bristol Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing